Gladys Knight & The Pips Very Best of Gladys Knight & The Pips - The Early Years

Get email alerts for Gladys Knight & The Pips
4 ratings
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6447
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Could it be that Gladys Knight, along with her brother and cousins, had her first hit nearly '40 years ago? Gladys wasn't quite 17 when "Every Beat of My Heart" became both a Pop and R&B top ten hit back in 1961. Included in this 'pip' of a collection are 28 of the Pips earliest recording, including a rehearsal tape that's their earliest known recorded performance.


  • 1.Letter Full Of Tears
  • 2.You Broke Your Promise
  • 3.Every Beat Of My Heart
  • 4.Bless The One
  • 5.Guess Who?
  • 6.Operator
  • 7.I'll Trust In You
  • 8.Come See About Me
  • 9.Darling
  • 10.I Can't Stand By
  • 11.Love Me Again
  • 12.Morning, Noon, And Night
  • 13.I Want That Kind Of Love
  • 14.Room In Your Heart
  • 15.Walking In Circles
  • 16.Happiness
  • 17.Love Call
  • 18.One More Lonely Night
  • 19.What Shall I Do?
  • 20.A Love Like Mine
  • 21.Jungle Love
  • 22.It Hurts So Bad
  • 23.Linda
  • 24.How Do You Say Goodbye
  • 25.Stop Running Around
  • 26.What Will Become Of Me?
  • 27.Queen Of Tears
  • 28.Waiting For My Phone To Ring (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Gladys Knight & The Pips includes: Gladys Knight (vocals); Bubba Knight, William Guest.
Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
The meaning in the title of this compilation is simply this: The Very Best of the Early Years means "before Motown." Gladys Knight cut a number of singles and albums for Vee Jay before signing with Berry Gordy. This does not mean by any stretch of the imagination that the tunes here -- twenty-eight of them on a single disc -- aren't invaluable as early modern soul, far from it. It's simply that the title is misleading for the uninitiated listener who would do well to pick up one of the countless Motown collections that bears her name instead. For the serious Knight collector these are excellent sides, including regional hits such as her reading of Don Covay's "Letter of Tears" and "Come See About Me," and her first smash -- a cover of Johnny Otis' "Every Beat of My Heart." In addition to these tunes there are a number of classics written by William Guest that include "Walking Around in Circles," the stomping "Room in Your Heart," and her own early attempt at writing "Jungle Love," with Guest on vocals. "Queen of Tears" is the first track on this set to reveal what would become Knight's trademark sound for Motown. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 17,682
  • UPC: 090431644720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)