Jerry Lee Lewis Monsters / Roots

Get email alerts for Jerry Lee Lewis
5 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6439
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Sun Records SUN-124 (1971)
  • Original Album #2: Sun Records SUN-145 (1982)

Description by

Lewis' electrifying showmanship and amazing singing are showcased on these two original releases collected together on one CD.


  • 1.Don't Be Cruel
  • 2.Your Cheating Heart
  • 3.Save The Last Dance For Me
  • 4.Pink Pedal Pushers
  • 5.Good Golly Miss Molly
  • 6.Matchbox
  • 7.Be Bop A Lula
  • 8.Jailhouse Rock
  • 9.Drinking Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee
  • 10.Honey Hush
  • 11.Singing The Blues
  • 12.I Forgot To Remember To Forget
  • 13.Cool Cool Ways (Sexy Ways)
  • 14.Baby Baby Bye Bye
  • 15.Love Made A Fool Of Me
  • 16.When My Blue Moon Turns Gold Again
  • 17.Bonnie Bee
  • 18.I Know What It Means

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: MONSTERS (1971)/ROOTS.
MONSTERS originally released on Sun (124). ROOTS originally released on Sun (145). Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Along with Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins, and Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis pioneered the rock & roll sound of the '50s with his early recordings for Sun Records. Reissue specialist Collectables has paired two original Sun packages on this single disc. Lewis's frenzied piano style, equal parts barrelhouse and Little Richard, merged blues, country, and an unidentified third party to create a wholly unique and original style that we've come to know as rock & roll.
On MONSTERS, Jerry Lee takes on tunes by some of the rock & roll greats who aided him in the birth of rockabilly. Gene Vincent's "Be Bop a Lula" and Carl Perkins' "Matchbox" may be forever associated with their authors, but the Killer puts an undeniably authoritative spin on them. With the ROOTS album, Jerry Lee looks back to some of his other inspirations, covering tunes that had a strong effect on him, like "When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again" and "Love Made a Fool of Me." Here too, the tunes are delivered in Lewis's inimitable trademark style, and rendered wholly fresh.
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,853
  • UPC: 090431643921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)