Jerry Lee Lewis Taste of Country / Ole Tyme Country Music

Get email alerts for Jerry Lee Lewis
6 ratings
CYBER MONDAY SALE: $5.98 Sale ends Nov 30
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6430
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Also available in a set:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Goodness gracious, two complete Jerry Lee Lewis records on one CD! Everybody knows that nobody plays rock and roll piano like Jerry Lee, but this collection of country music from the early '70s also shows off his fine singing talents.


  • 1.I Can't Seem To Say Goodbye
  • 2.I Love You So Much It Hurts
  • 3.I'm Throwing Rice
  • 4.Goodnight Irene
  • 5.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • 6.Am I To Be The One
  • 7.Crazy Arms
  • 8.My Train To Memphis
  • 9.As Long As I Live
  • 10.You Win Again
  • 11.You Hurt Me So
  • 12.Waiting For A Train
  • 13.Carry Me Back To Old Virginia
  • 14.John Henry
  • 15.Old Black Joe
  • 16.My Blue Heaven
  • 17.Your The Only Star
  • 18.Crawdad Song
  • 19.Hand Me Down By My Walking Cane
  • 20.You Are My Sunshine
  • 21.I'll Keep On Loving You
  • 22.Deep Elm Blues

Product Description:

A TASTE OF COUNTRY originally released on Sun (114). OLD TYME COUNTRY MUSIC originally released on Sun (121). Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Along with Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis pioneered the rock & roll sound of the '50s with his early recordings for Sun Records. Reissue specialist Collectables has paired two original Sun albums on this single disc. Lewis's frenzied piano style, equal parts barrelhouse and Little Richard, merged blues, country, and an unidentified third party to create a wholly unique and original style that we've come to know as rock & roll. As the years passed, however, Lewis would bring the country side of his sound more and more to the fore, scoring several country hits in the process.
As this disc makes plain, though, he was exploring country music as early as his Sun days. Jerry Lee's country music sounds like none other, though. Even when tackling material by an artist as canonical as Hank Williams (on "You Win Again" and "Your Cheating Heart"), the Killer invests the tunes with a touch of roadhouse R&B. Similarly, he turns "You Are My Sunshine" into a boogie-woogie number and explores the connection between blues and country on "Deep Elm Blues."
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 881
  • UPC: 090431643020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)