Spirit Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus

Rolling Stone: "...A blockbuster of a record..."
Get email alerts for Spirit
Price: $10
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  6GVKJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 1, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sony Music Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/4/71, pp.52-54
"...A blockbuster of a record..."
Entertainment Weekly - 11/08/96, p.69
"Seekers of esoteric musical thrills might do well to investigate these reissues of this all but forgotten West Coast band's late '60s/early '70s albums....unlike many latter-day chops flaunters, these guys mostly kept to the four-minute mark, so that even the unsuccessful experiments are mercifully brief." - Rating: B+


  • 1.Prelude - Nothin' To Hide
  • 2.Nature's Way
  • 3.Animal Zoo
  • 4.Love Has Found A Way
  • 5.Why Can't I Be Free
  • 6.Mr. Skin
  • 7.Space Child
  • 8.When I Touch You
  • 9.Street Worm
  • 10.Life Has Just Begun
  • 11.Morning Will Come
  • 12.Soldier
  • 13.Rougher Road
  • 14.Animal Zoo (Mono Single Version)
  • 15.Morning Will Come (Alternate Mono Mix)
  • 16.Red Light Roll On

Product Description:

Spirit: Randy California (guitar); John Locke (keyboards); Mark Andes (bass); Ed Cassidy (drums).
Includes liner notes by Marty Pekar.
After three albums with producer Lou Adler (who had also signed them on his label, Ode), the band brought in David Briggs, who'd previously worked with Neil Young. A real sense of camaraderie and experimentation runs through this entire work, which took longer to record than any previous Spirit effort. "Nature's Way" has remained popular since its first appearance, and the album also includes "Mr. Skin," "Morning Will Come," and "Animal Zoo."
The album is characterized by an audacious blend of catchy pop and experimental sounds, as on the folkish, daring "Why Can't I Be Free" and the musically ambitious "Love Has Found A Way." Unfortunately, this was the band's final album. Randy California and Ed Cassidy continued to resurrect the Spirit name over the decades, but the perfectly balanced tensions of this original lineup were gone. Here, though, the supremely focused yet adventurous playing and writing make TWELVE DREAMS OF DR. SARDONICUS Spirit's finest hour.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,760
  • UPC: 5099748517326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)