COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!
Get email alerts for Curtis Peagler
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $15 (75% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZDP 24263
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: August 14, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Fantasy Inc.


  • 1.After You've Gone
  • 2.Disciples Blues
  • 3.Slippin' & Slidin'
  • 4.A Little Taste
  • 5.Perhaps
  • 6.Huck's Delight
  • 7.Dottie
  • 8.Right Down Front
  • 9.Along Came Cheryl
  • 10.Ros-Al
  • 11.The Happy Blues
  • 12.My Funny Valentine
  • 13.Kelley's Line
  • 14.Hapnin's

Product Description:

& The Modern Jazz Disciples.
Curtis Peagler & The Modern Jazz Disciples includes: Curtis Peagler (alto & tenor saxophones); Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); William "Hickey" Kelley (normaphone, euphonium).
The Modern Jazz Disciples weren't a group for very long; 14 of the 15 masters they recorded for Prestige between 1959 and 1960 are present on this compilation of their only two releases. Praised by Cannonball Adderley and Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (the latter who helped get them their record deal), this fine quintet deserved a better fate. Leader Curtis Peagler is a Charlie Parker-influenced alto saxophonist, while the other major soloist, William "Hicky" Kelley, plays the rarely heard normaphone, a sort of valve trombone built shaped somewhat like an alto sax. Both men are strong soloists and also engage in some sensitive interplay on occasion. A snappy take of "After You've Gone" serves as a solid opener, while their arrangement of "My Funny Valentine" initially seems somewhat influenced by Gerry Mulligan's famous chart for his quartet with Chet Baker, but Peagler quickly finds his own sound. Pianist Wiliam "Billy" Brown is prominently featured on Peagler's soulful "Disciples Blues." The only real complaint with this CD is its omission of "Autumn Serenade" (from their second and final LP, Right Down Front), which will no doubt cause serious bop collectors to search extensively for the original album as well. ~ Ken Dryden

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 025218526326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)