Eddie Harris Excursions (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Eddie Harris
3 ratings
Price: $18
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $0.99 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  WHCC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 2-311 (1973)

Description by OLDIES.com:

This two CD set showcases the special genius of Eddie Harris. "Excursions" was originally released in 1973 on Atlantic, and key personnel joining Harris include Cedar Walton and Ron Carter.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Drunk Man
  • 2.Renovated Rhythm
  • 3.Inapplicable Concord
  • 4.Listen Here Goes Funky
  • 5.Turbulence
  • 6.Of Age

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Fragmentary Apparitions
  • 2.Hey Wado
  • 3.Aleph The Fool
  • 4.Recess
  • 5.I'm Lonely
  • 6.Oleo

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Eddie Harris (vocals, electric saxophone, reed trumpet); Ronald Muldrow (guitorgan); Cedar Walton, Jodie Christian (piano); Larry Nash, Richard Abrams (electric piano); Rufus Reid, Melvin Jackson (bass); Billy James, Billy Higgins (drums); Ndugu (percussion).
Producers: Eddie Harris, Marvin Lugonuff, Arif Mardin.
Originally released on Atlantic.
Personnel: Eddie Harris (vocals, saxophone, tenor saxophone, electric saxophone); Ronald Muldrow (electric guitar); Frank Gordon, Ray Codrington (trumpet); Billy Howell (trombone); Jodie Christian, Cedar Walton (piano); Richard Abrahams, Larry Nash (electric piano); Leon "Ndugu" Chancler (drums, percussion); Richard Smith , Billy Higgins , Billy James (drums); Marshall Thompson , Andr‚ Fischer (percussion); Marilyn Haywood, Mary Ann Stewart, Vivian Harrell (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Harry Abraham.
Recording information: 1966-1973.
This disc has three selections apiece from 1966 and 1968 and six from 1973, all of which were previously unreleased at the time. Eddie Harris is heard in top form on the diverse program, some of which is funky and some of which is purely straightahead. Highlights include "Listen Here Goes Funky," the 16«-minute "Turbulence," "Fragmentary Apparitions," "Hey Wado" and "Oleo." Harris switches between tenor, his electrified sax and (on "Turbulence") reed trumpet; his sidemen include guitarist Ronald Muldrow, keyboardists Larry Nash and Richard Abrams and pianists Jodie Christian and Cedar Walton. This set is well worth searching for. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,783
  • UPC: 090431640920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)