COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!
Get email alerts for King Curtis
8 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $5.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6331
Brand New

CD Details

  • Recording Engineer: Stephen Sulke
  • Executive Producer: Nesuhi Ertegun
  • Produced By: King Curtis & Joel Dorn
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic SD 1637 (1973)

Description by

Recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival on June 17, 1971. Personnel on the album are Champion Jack Dupree on piano and vocals, King Curtis on tenor and alto saxes, Cornell Dupree on guitar, Jerry Jemmott on bass and Oliver Jackson on drums.


  • 1.Junker's Blues
  • 2.Sneaky Pete
  • 3.Everything's Gonna Be Alright
  • 4.Get With It
  • 5.Poor Boy Blues
  • 6.I'm Having Fun

Product Description:

Personnel: King Curtis (alto & tenor saxophones); Champion Jack Dupree (vocals, piano); Cornell Dupree (guitar); Jerry Jemmott (bass); Oliver Jackson (drums).
Recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux, Switzerland on June 17, 1971. Originally released on Atlantic (1637). Includes liner notes by Mike Hennessey.
Personnel: King Curtis (saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Champion Jack Dupree (vocals, piano, keyboards); Cornell Dupree (guitar); Chuck Rainey, Gerald Jemmott (bass guitar); Oliver Jackson (drums).
Audio Mixers: Michael Cuscuna; Bob Liftin.
Liner Note Author: Mike Hennessey.
Recording information: Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux, Switzerland (06/17/1971).
Editor: Michael Cuscuna.
Photographers: Tom Hanley; Georges Braunschweig; Yves Braunschweig.
Arrangers: King Curtis; Champion Jack Dupree.
This live set from the 1971 Montreux Jazz Festival was co-led by tenor saxophonist King Curtis (who tragically would be killed three months later) and veteran blues pianist/vocalist Champion Jack Dupree. With guitarist Cornell Dupree (in excellent form), bassist Jerry Jemmott and drummer Oliver Jackson laying down the foundation, Curtis and Dupree find a great deal of common musical ground. Dupree has quite a few witty vocals (particularly the near-classic "Junker's Blues") while taking choruses of irregular length that keep his sidemen continually guessing. Curtis' distinctive tenor is also heard from, making one truly regret that this was his final recording. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,713
  • UPC: 090431633120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)