John Coltrane Blue World

Get email alerts for John Coltrane
Price: $46.20
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  6W854
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: September 27, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Impulse! / Verve

Description by

In 1964, the National Film Board of Canada asked John Coltrane to record the soundtrack for a French-language film titled "Le chat dans le sac" ("The Cat in the Bag"). Amazingly, no announcement was made that the iconic Coltrane was adding new performances to this film. In June of that year, Coltrane's 'Classic Quartet' entered Rudy Van Gelder's studio and recorded five previously-recorded Coltrane originals. For many years, viewers of the film who recognized the music thought that they were listening to the original recordings, though in fact they were new and had never been heard. Now, with the release of "Blue World", we can hear these newly-discovered recordings for the first time.


  • 1.Naima (Take 1)
  • 2.Village Blues (Take 2)
  • 3.Blue World
  • 4.Village Blues (Take 1)
  • 5.Village Blues (Take 3)
  • 6.Like Sonny
  • 7.Traneing In
  • 8.Naima (Take 2)
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,245
  • UPC: 602577626517
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)