Roy Ayers Daddy Bug / Virgo Vibes

Get email alerts for Roy Ayers
SALE: $19.99
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 40173
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Daddy Bug" was originally released in 1969 as Atlantic 1538. Produced by Herbie Mann. "Virgo Vibes" was originally released in 1967 as Atlantic 1488. Produced by Herbie Mann.
  • Released: June 7, 2004
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1538 (1969)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1488 (1967)

Description by

Today Roy Ayers is viewed as one of the prophets of acid jazz, a label that hides the fact that he is one of the great jazz vibraphonists, bandleaders and session players of the genre. Ayers was given his first set of vibe mallets by the legendary Lionel Hampton. Ayers' own crisp, lyrical and rhythmic style is itself firmly rooted in hard bop. Performers on these Herbie Mann-produced albums include Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, Freddy Waits, Joe Henderson, Jack Wilson and Ronnie Clark.


  • 1.Daddy Bug
  • 2.Bonita
  • 3.This Guy's In Love With You
  • 4.I Love You Michelle
  • 5.Shadows
  • 6.Emmie
  • 7.Look To The Sky
  • 8.It Could Only Happen With You
  • 9.The Ringer
  • 10.Ayerloom
  • 11.In The Limelight
  • 12.Virgo Vibes
  • 13.Glow Flower

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: DADDY BUG (1969)/VIRGO VIBES (1967).
Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather.
Personnel includes: Roy Ayers (vibraphone); Herbie Hancock (piano); Sonny Sharrock (guitar); Buster Williams, Ron Carter (bass); Mickey Rocca, Freddie Waits, Bruno Carr (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1538).
Personnel: Roy Ayers (vibraphone); Joe Henderson, Harold Land (tenor saxophone); Charles Toliver (trumpet); Ronnie Clark, Jack Wilson (piano); Reggie Workman, Buster Williams (bass); Bruno Carr, Donald Bailey (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1488).
Personnel: Roy Ayers (vibraphone); Sonny Sharrock (guitar); Joe Henderson (tenor saxophone); Herbie Hancock, Jack Wilson (piano); Donald Bailey , Freddie Waits, Bruno Carr (drums).
Liner Note Author: Leonard Feather.
Arranger: William S. Fischer.
Though Roy Ayers would come to crossover success in the 1970s with his pop/jazz/R&B blend, eventually becoming recognized as the grandfather of acid jazz, his early career was another story. His late-'60s albums for Atlantic were solidly on the jazz side, and two of the best are paired here. Ayers's sophomore release, VIRGO VIBES, is a straight-up post-bop affair with an all-star cast including Herbie Hancock (working under an alias for some reason), Charles Tolliver, Harold Land, and Joe Henderson. Ayers's trademark lyrical flair goes hand in hand with a searching spirit and harmonic daring here.
The later sessions for DADDY BUG begin to point towards Ayers's subsequent stylistic shift, with a version of the pop hit "This Guy's in Love With You" and some expanded orchestrations. Nevertheless, they still find Ayers (who was still playing in Herbie Mann's band at the time) showing off plenty of bop cred. Seekers of DJ material are directed to Ayers's later, more groove-conscious releases, but pure jazzers will find delights aplenty on this handy twofer.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 090431627327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)