Mose Allison Western Man / Mose In Your Ear

Get email alerts for Mose Allison
3 ratings
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $6.99 (47% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6262
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Western Man" was originally released in 1971 as Atlantic 1584. "Mose In Your Ear" was originally released in 1972 as Atlantic 1627.
  • Released: September 12, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1584 (1971)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1627 (1972)

Description by

Mose Allison is equally at home playing both jazz and blues piano. His boogie woogie and bebop-laden style is still both innovative and fresh sounding. He's also one of the finest songwriters of the 20th century, and his tunes have been covered by everyone from the Rolling Stones to The Who to Bonnie Raitt. 1972's "In Your Ear" is a live set recorded at the In Your Ear jazz club in Palo Alto, California.


  • 1.If You Only Knew
  • 2.How Much Truth
  • 3.Benediction
  • 4.Night Club
  • 5.Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
  • 6.Mountains
  • 7.Western Man
  • 8.Ask Me Nice
  • 9.Tell Me Something
  • 10.If You've Got The Money (I've Got The Time)
  • 11.Meadows
  • 12.Look What You Made Me Do
  • 13.Fool's Paradise
  • 14.I Don't Worry About A Thing
  • 15.Powerhouse
  • 16.Hey Good Lookin'
  • 17.I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues
  • 18.You Can Count On Me To Do My Part
  • 19.You Are My Sunshine
  • 20.Don't Forget To Smile
  • 21.The Seventh Son

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: WESTERN MAN (1971)/MOSE IN YOUR EAR (1972).
Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Chuck Rainey (bass); Billy Cobham (drums).
Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Clyde Flowers (bass); Eddie Charlton (drums).
Producer: Mose Allison.
Recorded live at In Your Ear, Palo Alto, California.
Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano, electric piano); Chuck Rainey (electric bass); Eddie Lee Charlton, Billy Cobham (drums).
Liner Note Author: Ben Sidran.
Recording information: In Your Ear, Palo Alto, CA (02/02/1971-04/26/1972); Palo Alto, CA (02/02/1971-04/26/1972).
This Collectables reissue features two Mose Allison albums, from 1971 and 1972 respectively. On WESTERN MAN, Allison interprets Duke Ellington's "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me" with deference. His rendition is warm and delicate, and seeks only to illuminate the beauty of Ellington's melody, allowing the song to swing beautifully.
On the other hand, Allison's original tune "Powerhouse," from the live MOSE IN YOUR EAR record, shows another side of this artist. Here, the pianist and his group improvise without restraint. On this lengthy track, Allison proves that he's not just a beat-generation crooner by offering up virtuosic piano work that flows with great clarity and emotion. Here, his trio mates--bassist Clyde Flowers and drummer Eddie Charlton--anchor the tune with great zeal. Throughout this 21-track release, Allison exudes remarkably creative energy, whether he's easing into a ballad or riding an upbeat groove.
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,158
  • UPC: 090431626221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)