Milt Jackson Ballad Artistry of Milt Jackson / Vibrations

Get email alerts for Milt Jackson
4 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.99 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6258
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "The Ballad Artistry Of Milt Jackson" was originally released in 1960 as Atlantic 1342. "Vibrations" was originally released in 1964 as Atlantic 1417.
  • Released: May 25, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1342 (1960)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1417 (1964)

Description by

An amazing pairing of albums from MJQ vibraphonist Milt Jackson. Quincy Jones arranged and conducts on "Ballad Artistry," and "Vibrations" features personnel including Jimmy Heath, Connie Kay and Kenny Burrell. Highlights include Django Reinhardt's "Nuages" and Dizzy Gillespie's "Algo Bueno."


  • 1.The Cylinder
  • 2.Makin' Whoopee
  • 3.Alone Together
  • 4.Tenderly
  • 5.Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • 6.Nuages
  • 7.Deep In A Dream
  • 8.I'm A Fool To Want You
  • 9.The Midnight Sun Will Never Set
  • 10.Tomorrow
  • 11.Darbin & The Redd Fox
  • 12.Algo Bueno
  • 13.Mallets Toward None
  • 14.Blue Jubilee
  • 15.Vibrations
  • 16.Let Me Hear The Blues
  • 17.Melancholy Blues
  • 18.Sweet Georgia Brown

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Nat Hentoff and Bill Coss.
Personnel includes: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Quincy Jones (conductor); Don Hammond (flute); Romeo Penque (reeds); Gloria Agostini (harp); Jimmy Jones (piano); Barry Gailbraith, Chuck Wayne (guitar); Bill Crow, Milt Hinton (bass); Connie Kay (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1342).
Personnel: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Jimmy Heath (tenor saxophone); Tate Houston (baritone saxophone); Henry Boozier (trumpet); Tommy McIntosh (trombone); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Alvin Jackson, George Duvivier (bass); Connie Kay (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1417).
Personnel: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Connie Kay (vocals, drums); Chuck Wayne, Kenny Burrell, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Gloria Agostini (harp); Julius Held, George Ockner, Leonard Posner, Sol Shapiro, Alex Cores, Leo Kahn, Max Cahn, Harry Katzman, Gene Orloff, Paul Gershman, Harry Lookofsky (violin); Dave Mankovitz, Al Brown, Harold Coletta (viola); Maurice Brown , Charles McCracken , Harvey Shapiro , George Ricci (cello); Don Hammond (alto flute); Romeo Penque (reeds); Jimmy Heath (tenor saxophone); Tate Houston (baritone saxophone); Henry Boozier (trumpet); Tommy Flanagan (piano).
Liner Note Authors: Nat Hentoff; Bill Coss.
Recording information: 05/01/1959-02/24/1960.
Arranger: Quincy Jones.
Vibraphonist Milt Jackson's enormous capacity for invention percolates throughout the sumptuous settings on the "with strings" date, The Ballad Artistry of Milt Jackson. Jackson and the large string section, masterfully arranged and conducted by Quincy Jones, mesh beautifully. Equally critical, the rhythm section is superbly integrated in the arrangements, underpinning the billows of violins and cellos with a distinct jazz pulse. Above all, Jackson is himself, bringing his consistently flawless phrasing and subtle, but ever-present, blues feeling to his role as featured solist. Bassist Milt Hinton, drummer Connie Kay, guitarist Barry Galbraith, and pianist Jimmy Jones make up the rhythm section for this 1960 session. The other half of this compilation, 1964's Vibrations, is another fine set. This time Jackson is joined by four horns and another strong rhythm section. Tenor player Jimmy Heath, sounding satisfyingly like John Coltrane circa the start of his Atlantic period, is featured prominently. The interaction of Jackson and Heath with pianist Tommy Flanagan, drummer Connie Kay, and bassist Alvin Jackson provide the main interest. The set is nicely rounded out by two tracks with guitarist Kenny Burrell, and a small, vocal ensemble that sings wordless arrangements on the cooly swinging title tack and the hard bopping "Let Me Hear the Blues," both by Jackson. ~ Jim Todd
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 40,503
  • UPC: 090431625828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)