John Lewis Milanese Story (Original Soundtrack) / Animal Dance

Get email alerts for John Lewis
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6253
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "A Milanese Story (Original Soundtrack)" was composed for a film of the same name ("Una Storia Milanese"), directed by Eriprando Visconti, and starring Enrico Thibaut & Danielle Gaubert. Track 13 ("Ornaments") also features The Zagreb Jazz Quartet.
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1388 (1962)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1402 (1963)

Description by

A renowned composer, this double selection features John Lewis' score for the Italian film Una Storia Milanese and "Animal Dance" - an album featuring trombonist Albert Mangelsdorff and the Zagreb Jazz Quartet.


  • 1.In A Crowd
  • 2.Valeria
  • 3.Winter Tale
  • 4.Monday In Milan
  • 5.Finale
  • 6.Danielle In The Lion's Den
  • 7.Animal Dance
  • 8.Autumn Leaves
  • 9.Set 'Em Up
  • 10.Monday In Milan
  • 11.The Sheriff
  • 12.Why Are You Blue
  • 13.Ornaments

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: John Lewis: A MILANESE STORY (1962)/John Lewis & Albert Mangelsdorf: ANIMAL DANCE (1964).
Includes liner notes by Horst Lippmann, John Lewis and Ralph J. Gleason.
Personnel: John Lewis (piano); Bobby Jaspar (tenor saxophone, flute); Rene Thomas (guitar); Giovanni Tommaso, Jozsef Paradi (bass); Buster Smith (drums).
Quartetto Di Milano: Giuliu Franzetti, Enzo Porta (violin); Tito Ticcardi (viola); Alfredo Riccardi (cello).
Personnel: John Lewis (piano); Albert Mangeldorff (trombone); Karl Theodor Geier (bass); Silvijc Glojnaric (drums).
The Zagreb Jazz Quartet: Bosko Petrovic (vibraphone); Davor Kajfes (piano); Miljenko Prohaska (bass); Silvijc Glojnaric (drums).
Personnel: John Lewis (piano); Ren‚ Thomas (guitar); Giulio Franzetti, Enzo Porta (violin); Tito Riccardi (viola); Alfredo Riccardi (cello); Bobby Jaspar (flute, tenor saxophone); Albert Mangelsdorff (trombone); Davor Kajfes (piano); Bosko Petrovic (vibraphone); Earl "Buster" Smith , Silvije Glojnaric (drums).
Liner Note Authors: John Lewis; Horst Lippmann; Ralph J. Gleason.
In 1999, Collectables released A Milanese Story/Animal Dance, which contained two complete albums -- A Milanese Story (1962, originally released on Atlantic) and Animal Dance (1962, originally released on Atlantic) -- by John Lewis on one compact disc. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,504
  • UPC: 090431625323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)