Hank Crawford Mr. Blues / Mr. Blues Plays Lady Soul

Get email alerts for Hank Crawford
3 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6244
Brand New
Products with a similar style:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Mr. Blues" was originally released in 1968 as Atlantic 1470. "Mr. Blues Plays Lady Soul" was originally released in 1969 as Atlantic 1523.
  • Released: June 28, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1470 (1968)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1523 (1969)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Hank Crawford began his career in Memphis, playing with B.B. King, Bobby Bland, and Ike Turner. He gained fame with Ray Charles -- first playing baritone sax, switching to alto, and then becoming Ray's music director. Crawford has a bluesy and soulful sound that is instantly recognizable, and his soul jazz sound heard here remains popular and appealing today. Sessionmen on these two albums include David Newman, Pepper Adams and Eric Gale.


  • 1.My. Blues
  • 2.On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
  • 3.Hust Puppies
  • 4.Danger Zone
  • 5.Route 66
  • 6.Lonely Avenue
  • 7.Teardrops
  • 8.Smoky City
  • 9.The Turfer
  • 10.Groovin'
  • 11.I Can't See Myself Leaving You
  • 12.Never Let Me Go
  • 13.Baby, I Love You
  • 14.Lady Soul
  • 15.Soul Serenade
  • 16.Ain't No Way
  • 17.Since You've Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)
  • 18.Take A Look
  • 19.Going Down Slow

Product Description:

2 LP's on 1 CD: MR. BLUES (1968)/MR. BLUES PLAYS LADY SOUL (1969).
Includes liner notes by Herb Wong and Joel Dorn.
Personnel: Hank Crawford (alto saxophone, piano); Wendell Harrison (tenor saxophone); Lonnie Shaw, Howard Johnson (baritone saxophone); John Hunt, Fielder Floyd (trumpet); Sonny Forriest (guitar); Charles Green, Charles Dungey (bass); Isaac Walton, Wilbert Hogan, Joe Dukes, Milt Turner (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1470).
Personnel: Hank Crawford (alto saxophone, piano); Arif Mardin (conductor); Frank Wess (alto saxophone); David Newman (tenor saxophone, flute); Seldon Powell (tenor saxophone); Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); Ernie Royal, Joe Newman, Snookie Young, Bernie Glow (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Benny Powell (trombone); Richard Tee (acoustic & electric pianos); Paul Griffin (piano, organ); Eric Gale (guitar); Jerry Jemmott, Ron Carter, Charles Rainey (electric bass); Bernard Purdie (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1523).
Personnel: Hank Crawford (saxophone, alto saxophone, piano); Eric Gale , Sonny Forriest (guitar); David "Fathead" Newman (flute, tenor saxophone); Frank Wess (alto saxophone); Seldon Powell, Wendell Harrison (tenor saxophone); Lonnie Shaw, Howard Johnson , Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); Ernie Royal, Fielder Floyd, Joe Newman , Snooky Young, Bernie Glow, John Hunt (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Benny Powell (trombone); Paul Griffin (piano, organ); Richard Tee (piano); Chuck Rainey, Jerry Jemmott, Ron Carter (bass guitar); Joe Dukes, Wilbert G.T. Hogan, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, Milt Turner (drums).
Liner Note Author: Herb Wong.
Recording information: 01/19/1966-02/13/1969.
Arranger: Arif Mardin.
When Ray Charles' musical director has the words "blues" and "soul" in large type on the covers of his own releases, there's a strong chance that's what the listener will find inside. They're definitely there in this compilation that reissues two of altoist Hank Crawford's Atlantic albums from the late '60s. The Mr. Blues set from 1968 is Crawford and a small horn section playing rocking blues riffs with a crack rhythm section. Instrumental R&B doesn't get much hipper. Crawford's tough but lyrical sound -- informed by a bebopper's command and facility -- is tailor-made for this blues-charged music. Highlights include the title track, a cool, finger-popping "Route 66," a sleazy, churning "Lonely Avenue," and a couple of no-nonsense Crawford originals. A middle-of-the road "On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever)" is the only departure from the set's satisfyingly gritty feel. The concept for the Lady Soul date from 1969 is perfect for Crawford, who typically plays close to the melody, using his great blues feeling and jazz chops to create interest and excitement. Crawford evokes the spirit of Aretha Franklin's music without resorting to literal re-creation of the originals. Arif Mardin's driving, big-band arrangements are impressive, but it is the rhythm section that makes these tracks. Essentially, it's the Atlantic house band: guitarist Eric Gale, pianist Richard Tee, bassist Chuck Rainey, and drummer Bernard Purdie. They all get ample opportunity to show their stuff, especially on the seven-plus minute master blast of the blues, "Going Down Slow." ~ Jim Todd
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,971
  • UPC: 090431624425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)