LaVern Baker See See Rider / Blues Ballads

Get email alerts for LaVern Baker
4 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6231
Brand New
Products with a similar style:
Related products:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Songs 1,3-13 are in stereo
  • All other songs are in mono
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The extraordinarily gifted LaVern Baker was one of the most popular R&B singers in the early rock era. Her voice and style are still instantly recognizable today and her reputation has only grown. She was one of the first inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Here are two of her best albums from the vaults of Atlantic.


  • 1.See See Rider
  • 2.You Better Stop
  • 3.He's A Real Gone Guy
  • 4.Story Of My Love
  • 5.You Said
  • 6.I'm Leaving You
  • 7.Don't Let The Stars Get In Your Eyes
  • 8.Trying
  • 9.Half Of Your Love
  • 10.A Little Bird Told Me So
  • 11.Endless Love
  • 12.All The Time
  • 13.I Cried A Tear
  • 14.If You Loved Me
  • 15.You're Teasing Me
  • 16.Love Me Right
  • 17.Dix-A-Billy
  • 18.So High On Love
  • 19.I Waited Too Long
  • 20.Why Baby Why
  • 21.Humpty Dumpty Heart
  • 22.It's So Fine
  • 23.Whipper Snapper
  • 24.St. Louis Blues

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: SEE SEE RIDER (1963)/BLUES BALLADS (1959).
Originally released on Atlantic. Includes liner notes by Marv Goldberg.
SEE SEE RYDER/BLUES BALLADS is a one-CD collection of albums LaVern Baker released in 1963 and 1959, respectively. The tracks are not presented in the original sequence, but the ones dating from 1963 are easily identifiable-they're in stereo and tend to feature prominent bass guitar, then something of a novelty.
The "blues ballads" half of the title shouldn't be taken too literally, since much of the music here was clearly targeted at somebody's idea of the teenage audience. Hence the cornball Dixieland banjo on "Humpty Dumpty Heart" and the Perry Como-ish ballad "Don't Let the Stars Get in Your Eyes." Baker is nonetheless in fine vocal form throughout, investing even the weakest songs with total conviction. And it's worth the price of the CD just to hear her deliver the line "Sometimes he irks me with his line of jive" on "He's a Real Gone Guy."
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,321
  • UPC: 090431623121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)