Johnny Griffin The Blue Note & Jazzland Collection (4-CD)

Get email alerts for Johnny Griffin
SUPER SAVINGS: $14 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $0.99 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  6SJEF
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: April 5, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Enlightenment

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Cried for You
  • 2.Satin Wrap
  • 3.Yesterdays
  • 4.Riff-Raff
  • 5.Bee-Ees
  • 6.The Boy Next Door
  • 7.These Foolish Things
  • 8.Lollypop
  • 9.Mil Dew
  • 10.Chicago Calling
  • 11.These Foolish Things
  • 12.The Boy Next Door
  • 13.Nice and Easy
  • 14.It's All Right With Me
  • 15.Lover Man

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 2.Ball Bearing
  • 3.All the Things You Are
  • 4.Smoke Stack
  • 5.The Congregation
  • 6.Latin Quarter
  • 7.I'm Glad There Is You
  • 8.Main Spring
  • 9.It's You or No One

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Tickle Toe
  • 2.Save Your Love for Me
  • 3.Twins
  • 4.Funky Fluke
  • 5.Imagination
  • 6.Soft Winds
  • 7.Last Train From Overbrook
  • 8.Hey, Lock!
  • 9.Midnight at Minton's
  • 10.Second Balcony Jump
  • 11.I'll Remember April
  • 12.Good Bait

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Camp Meeting
  • 2.Blues Up and Down
  • 3.Nice and Easy
  • 4.Oh, Gee
  • 5.Walkin'
  • 6.Leapin' on Lenox
  • 7.Layin' on Mellow
  • 8.Bahia
  • 9.Blue Lou
  • 10.How Am I to Know
  • 11.Ow!
  • 12.I Wished on the Moon
  • 13.Tin Tin Deo
  • 14.From This Moment On

Product Description:

Among the premier tenor sax-men of his generation, Johnny Griffin rose to prominence when he joined Lionel Hampton's band a few days after finishing high school. By 1944 he had broken ranks with Hampton and formed a sextet with former Hampton colleague Joe Morris and local musicians. By 1951 Griffin was playing baritone saxophone in an R&B septet led by another former bandmate, Arnett Cobb. After two years in the Army, Griffin returned to his hometown of Chicago where he established a reputation as one of the city's premiere saxophonists. Legendary jazz pianist Thelonious Monk encouraged Orrin Keepnews of Riverside Records to sign the young tenor, but before he could act Blue Note Records snapped him up. This 4CD Box Set features all the releases - both as leader and co-leader - which Johnny Griffin recorded for Blue Note and, later, the Jazzland label; a body of work quite staggering in its quality and breadth and one that has rarely been equalled. Containing eight original albums, all re-mastered to provide the best possible quality, and featuring over five hours of quite superb music in all, this release works equally as a fine starting point for those new to this extraordinary musicians work and a sterling reminder of just how great such work remains for those already well versed.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,119
  • UPC: 823564030401
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)