Jimmy Witherspoon Hey, Mrs. Jones!

Get email alerts for Jimmy Witherspoon
SALE: $3.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $8.99 (69% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6198
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Reprise 6012 (1964)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Vocalist Jimmy Witherspoon's first recording resulted in a #1 R&B hit in 1949. This 1962 album, originally released by Reprise in 1964, demonstrates Witherspoon's expert delivery on the melancholy "The Masquerade Is Over," his gospel roots on "Have Faith" and his playfulness on the light-hearted blues tune "Pink Champagne."


  • 1.Hey, Mrs. Jones
  • 2.In The Dark
  • 3.Tanya
  • 4.I Ain't Mad At You, Pretty Baby
  • 5.Have Faith
  • 6.Lovey Dovey
  • 7.I Don't Know
  • 8.Warm Your Heart
  • 9.Wee Baby Blues
  • 10.If You Live The Life, You Pay The Price
  • 11.Pink Champagne
  • 12.The Masquerade Is Over

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimmy Witherspoon (vocals, guitar); Al Viola (guitar); Gerald Vinci, Darrel Terwilliger, Johnny Vidor Strings, Walter Wiemeyer, Walter Rower, Harry Hyams, Justin DiTullio, Stanley Harris, Al Barr, Jesse Ehrlich, Bobby Bruce (strings); Maurice Simon, Harold Land, Jay Migliori, Ted Nash, Ben Webster, William Green , Charlie Kennedy (saxophone); Conrad Gozzo , John Anderson Concert Orchestra , Gerald Wilson, Al Porcino, Martin Banks (trumpet); Richard Taylor "Dick" Nash , Frank Rosolino, Lew McCreary (trombone); Bill Miller (piano); Earl Palmer , Mel Lewis (drums).
Arranger: Hidle Brown Barnum.
One of the many unfairly overlooked albums from Witherspoon's early career, Hey Mrs. Jones is a marvelous discovery, although its lack of stylistic unity, whilst showing Witherspoon's versatility, also accounts for a occasionally confusing listening experience. The best cuts on the album are priceless Witherspoon -- "The Masquerade Is Over" contains one of Witherspoon's most emotional and desperate performances, while "Have Faith" is a great gospel song, sung with genuine fervor. The album is marred slightly by a few novelty numbers, and it's hard to see anyone listening to "Pink Champagne" or "Lovey Dovey" many times, but this is a slight criticism of an album which is still one of Witherspoon's greatest. ~ Thomas Ward
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,177
  • UPC: 090431619827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)