Get email alerts for Yusef Lateef
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $7.99 (62% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6188
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 81977 (1989)

Description by

Lateef envisions elements of night in songs such as "Soft Light," "Closed Space," and "While On Earth."


  • 1.Warm Intensity
  • 2.Estuary
  • 3.Indefinite Expansion
  • 4.Closed Space
  • 5.Compassion Duration
  • 6.Visible Particles
  • 7.While On Earth
  • 8.Elementary Substance
  • 9.Soft Light
  • 10.Life Property
  • 11.Luminous Energy
  • 12.Essential Element

Product Description:

Personnel: Yusef Lateef (flute, alto flute, oboe, tenor saxophone, piano, grand piano, keyboards); Christopher Salvo (clarinet); Hugh Schick (flugelhorn, horns); Patrick Tucker (French horn).
Audio Mixer: Norman Blain.
Liner Note Author: Mort Fega.
Recording information: Moonstar Media, Shutesbury, MA (02/1989).
Photographer: Ken Collins.
Yusef Lateef has always sought to extend the boundaries of musical expression. Continuing his quest for new vistas in jazz, Yusef Lateef's 1989 release NOCTURNES is a subtle, even brooding, musical project that uses sound colors and stark musical landscapes to create, above all else, a sense of darkness and nighttime. This music is largely programmatic. In fact, NOCTURNES is probably best summed up as a modern tone poem. The writing is gloomy and ominous, dissonant and angular. Yet, each track retains a distinctly gentle and placid disposition. Trumpeter Hugh Schick plays with a rich, full bodied and legato approach throughout and Lateef's own flute playing is often quite heartrending as he soliloquizes over his own piano and keyboard playing.
NOCTURNES is a perfect CD for late nights or dreary afternoons, Lateef and crew challenge our ears to enter into a world that is at once desolate and austere, yet pretty and serene. In short, this is mood music at its best. Highlights include "Compassion Duration" and "Warm Intensity."
Collectables Records
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,532
  • UPC: 090431618820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)