Bessie Smith The Anthology: 48 Original Recordings (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Bessie Smith
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $6 (43% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  ZNOT 342
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 15, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Not Now Music

Description by

Bessie Smith dominated what has become known as 'classic blues'. Living every day as though it were her last was hardly conducive to a long life, but it gave the singer experience of suffering which she brought out in her singing. Not that Bessie was lacking in humour; the recordings of more comic material are every bit as red blooded as her articulation of disillusionment and hurt. Enjoy these two discs of her best material, digitally remastered for optimum listening experience.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  • 2.Gin House Blues
  • 3.Send Me To The 'Lectric Chair
  • 4.T'Ain't Nobody's Business If I Do
  • 5.I Need A Little Sugar In My Bowl
  • 6.After You've Gone
  • 7.Careless Love Blues
  • 8.Preachin' The Blues
  • 9.Black Mountain Blues
  • 10.Sinful Blues
  • 11.Homeless Blues
  • 12.Downhearted Blues
  • 13.Any Woman's Blues
  • 14.He's Gone Blues
  • 15.Graveyard Dream Blues
  • 16.Lady Luck Blues
  • 17.The Bye Bye Blues
  • 18.House Rent Blues
  • 19.Woman's Trouble Blues
  • 20.Work House Blues
  • 21.I Ain't Gonna Play No Second Fiddle
  • 22.Love Me Daddy Blues
  • 23.St Louis Blues
  • 24.Gimme A Pigfoot (and A Bottle of Beer)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hard Driving Papa
  • 2.Me and My Gin
  • 3.Dyin' By The Hour
  • 4.I'd Rather Be Dead and Buried In My Grave
  • 5.Aggravatin' Papa (Don't You Two Time Me)
  • 6.Lock and Key
  • 7.On Revival Day
  • 8.Looking For My Man Blues
  • 9.There'll Be A Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight
  • 10.Back Water Blues
  • 11.Young Woman's Blues
  • 12.A Good Man Is Hard To Find
  • 13.Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  • 14.Golden Rule Blues
  • 15.What's The Matter Now
  • 16.Honeyman Blues
  • 17.Muddy Water (A Mississippi Moan)
  • 18.Foolish Man Blues
  • 19.Kitchen Man
  • 20.Gulf Coast Blues
  • 21.Foolish Man Blues
  • 22.Chicago Bound Blues
  • 23.Alexander's Ragtime Band
  • 24.Sing Sing Prison Blues

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 5060143493423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Thanksgiving Day: Closed
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)