John Mayer Continuum

Get email alerts for John Mayer
495 ratings
Sale: $8.08
WINTER SALE: $6.43 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $2.55 (28% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
11 copies available
sku:  36VXX
Brand New
Related products:
Corinne Bailey Rae for $12.56
Amos Lee for $13.07

CD Details

  • Released: April 8, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.81
4 stars out of 5 -- "His breathy vocals are firmly at the album's center, and the R&B tradition he's mining lends weight to his pop flourishes."
Rolling Stone - p.103
Ranked #11 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 50 Albums Of 2006" -- "[A] breezy pop-rock record..."
Entertainment Weekly - p.71
"[A] John Mayer record par excellence: taut, melodic, well sung, impeccably played..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.108
4 stars out of 5 -- "Mayer has written worthy songs of protest, affirmation and hope."


  • 1.Waiting on the World to Change
  • 2.I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)
  • 3.Belief
  • 4.Gravity
  • 5.The Heart of Life
  • 6.Vultures
  • 7.Stop This Train
  • 8.Slow Dancing in a Burning Room
  • 9.Bold as Love
  • 10.Dreaming with a Broken Heart
  • 11.In Repair
  • 12.I'm Gonna Find Another You
  • 13.Say

Product Description:

Personnel: John Mayer (vocals, guitar); Chalmers "Spanky" Alford, Ben Harper, James Valentine (guitar); Charlie Hunter (8-string guitar); Pino Palladino (electric bass, background vocals); Willie Weeks (electric bass); Steve Jordan (drums, percussion, background vocals); Lannie McMIllian (tenor saxophone); Jim Mahorn (baritone saxophone); Ben Carley (trumpet); Jack Hale (trombone); Roy Hargrove (horns); Ricky Peterson (piano, keyboards); Lester Snell (Fender Rhodes piano, organ); Larry Goldings (organ, keyboards); Jamie Muhoberac (keyboards); Manolo Badrena (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Manny Marroquin; Michael Brauer.
Photographers: Sam Erickson; Mark Seliger; Chad Franscoviak.
John Mayer's progression as an artist has been an intriguing one. The move from his acoustic folk debut INSIDE WANTS OUT to the electric pop of his breakthroughs, ROOM FOR SQUARES and HEAVIER THINGS, showed him to be a singer, guitarist, and songwriter of range as well as commercial durability. Mayer then confounded the critics who dismissed him as a Dave Matthews clone when he released a raw, rootsy, blues-based live album with a trio that featured ace session musicians.
The horizons of Mayer's musical world continued to expand with 2006's CONTINUUM. Mellow and soulful, yet textured and sophisticated in execution, CONTINUUM incorporates all the elements of the artist's previous releases while raising the bar on craft, musicianship, and tunesmithery. Classic blues, R&B, and soul are the major touchstones here, but Mayer doesn't merely ape his influences; instead he assimilates them into a personal singer-songwriter mode that is as affecting as it is understated. Mid-tempo and downtempo grooves dominate, but the man still has a way with a lilting, folk-tinged melody (as on the lovely "The Heart of Life"). Mayer's deft guitar work and increasingly nuanced singing take center stage on first listen, but it is his heartfelt, beautifully written songs that truly make CONTINUUM shine.
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,027
  • UPC: 886972797625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)