Ray Price Playlist: The Very Best of Ray Price

Get email alerts for Ray Price
MASSIVE CD SALE: $6.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $2 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZIO 15392
Brand New
Also released as:

CD Details

  • Released: January 21, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Sony Legacy


  • 1.Release Me
  • 2.Crazy Arms
  • 3.City Lights
  • 4.Invitation to the Blues
  • 5.Heartaches by the Number
  • 6.Heart Over Mind
  • 7.Pride
  • 8.Make the World Go Away
  • 9.Night Life
  • 10.Funny How Time Slips Away
  • 11.It Should Be Easier Now
  • 12.I Let My Mind Wander
  • 13.For the Good Times
  • 14.Faded Love

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Joe Rudis; Slick Lawson.
At a time when Nashville first discovered country music had the potential to cross over to the pop charts in the '50s, Ray Price was the man who held firm to the music's honky tonk roots and showed how sophisticated traditional hard country could be, while also demonstrating later in his career that he could cut polished countrypolitan material that was refined but still emotionally powerful. Playlist: The Very Best of Ray Price is a budget-priced collection that focuses on Price's best-known work for Columbia Records, and includes honky tonk classics like "Crazy Arms" and "Heartaches by the Number," as well as more pop-oriented numbers like "Make the World Go Away" and "For the Good Times," and two hits written by his good friend and occasional collaborator Willie Nelson, "Night Life" and "Funny How Time Slips Away." (Nelson also steps up for a duet with Price on a re-recording of "Faded Love.") The album is divided roughly equally between Price's hard country sides and his countrypolitan hits, and given that Price cut records for well over half a century, this sampler barely scratches the surface of his body of work. Despite this, Playlist: The Very Best of Ray Price certainly delivers many of his best-known songs with quality audio and an intelligent sequence, and fans who want to hear the hits (or folks interested in a brief introduction to one of country's great voices) will be well-served by this collection. ~ Mark Deming

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,338
  • UPC: 888430153929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)