Moby Last Night

Last Night
Get email alerts for Moby
64 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  36VSH
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Mute U.S.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.66
4 stars out of 5 -- "A concept album about an all-night bender, LAST NIGHT solidifies Moby's link in the chain that binds DJ pioneers like Todd Terry to slinky futurists like Justice."
Spin - p.100
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his nostalgic retreat to rave's glory days reasserts Moby's strengths: No one does techno spirituals better."
Q (Magazine) - p.112
3 stars out of 5 -- "LAST NIGHT is a welcome return to the dancefloor....Disco-flavoured opener 'Ooh Yeah' finds him at his most euphoric..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.101
3 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's a picaresque, altered-states voyage through old school hip hop, black-leather electro and techno menace..."
The Word (magazine) (p.106) - "[T]his album is all huge piano riffs, chugging synths, ambient string breakdowns and yearning diva vocals. Perfectly catching the sometimes-forgotten emotional ambiguity of rave just before it ossified into hardcore..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.94
4 stars out of 5 -- "Moby has returned to the excitement of the 80s streets and clubs which inspired him, while taking the listener out with him, from warm-up, to peak, down to sunrise stagger."


  • 1.Ooh Yeah
  • 2.I Love to Move in Here
  • 3.257.Zero
  • 4.Everyday It's 1989
  • 5.Live for Tomorrow
  • 6.Alice
  • 7.Hyenas - (French)
  • 8.I'm in Love
  • 9.Disco Lies
  • 10.The Stars
  • 11.Degenerates
  • 12.Sweet Apocalypse
  • 13.Mothers of the Night
  • 14.Last Night

Product Description:

Personnel: Chrissi Poland, Aynzli Jones, Luci Butler, Sylvia Gordon, Wendy Starland (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Dan Grech-Marguerat.
Liner Note Author: Moby.
Editors: Ian Duncan; Kurt Uenala.
Photographer: Dale May.
A sharp about-face from his poppy previous outing, HOTEL, 2008's LAST NIGHT finds Moby (aka Richard Melville Hall) returning to his rave roots with a heavily electronic album tailor-made to reflect a gleefully decadent New York City club-hopping excursion. Although Moby has dabbled in guitar-driven rock (ANIMAL RIGHTS) and moody instrumentals (AMBIENT), he is clearly most at home performing house-influenced techno, as revealed on the 1992 giddy dance-floor hit "Go," which unsurprisingly served as the title of his '06 greatest-hits collection, and much of the sample-laden PLAY. Consciously avoiding the warm, organic leanings of that earlier record, Moby indulges in a cool, robotic sound on LAST NIGHT, as exemplified by the glittery "I Love to Move in Here," which features the Cold Crush Brothers' Grandmaster Caz, and "Alice," another energetic hip-hop-infused track. While it doesn't eclipse PLAY, LAST NIGHT is fine return to EVERTHING IS WRONG-era form, meaning that the glow-stick twirling crowd has reason to celebrate.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 724596938324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)