Django Reinhardt Django on the Radio (Live) (5-CD)

Get email alerts for Django Reinhardt
Price: $17
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $11.99 (41% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
item number:  36VQX
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: February 4, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: JSP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Afn Title Sequence
  • 2.Djangology
  • 3.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 4.Belleville
  • 5.Uptown Blues
  • 6.Moten Swing
  • 7.Afn Closing Sequence
  • 8.Belleville
  • 9.Moten Swing
  • 10.Don't Be That Way
  • 11.Improvisation No. 6
  • 12.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 13.Uptown Blues
  • 14.Djangology
  • 15.Are You in the Mood?
  • 16.Apple Honey
  • 17.Ride Red Ride
  • 18.Blues Riff
  • 19.Improvisation No. 5
  • 20.Honeysuckle Rose

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Swing Guitars
  • 2.Babik
  • 3.Blues en Mineur
  • 4.This Kind of Friend
  • 5.Nuages
  • 6.Viper's Dream
  • 7.Blues Clair
  • 8.Minor Swing
  • 9.Swing 41
  • 10.Swing 39
  • 11.Del Salle
  • 12.Yeux Noirs, Les
  • 13.Louise
  • 14.Reverie
  • 15.Swingtime in Springtime
  • 16.Stockholm
  • 17.Feerie
  • 18.Vendredi 13
  • 19.Sweet Chorus
  • 20.Crepescule
  • 21.Songe d'Automne
  • 22.I Love You for Sentimental Reasons

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Just One of Those Things
  • 2.Billets Doux
  • 3.Porto Cabello
  • 4.Swing Dynamique
  • 5.Lover Man
  • 6.Rythm Futur
  • 7.Artillerie Lourde
  • 8.Peche a La Mouche
  • 9.Belleville
  • 10.Souce Ambiance
  • 11.Swing de Paris
  • 12.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 13.It Had to Be You
  • 14.September Song
  • 15.Manoir de Mes Reves
  • 16.Melodie au Crepescule
  • 17.Dinette
  • 18.Folie a Amphion
  • 19.Place de Brouckere
  • 20.Symphonie
  • 21.Improvisation Sur La Danse Norwegienne
  • 22.St Louis Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Ol' Man River
  • 2.R-Vingt-Six
  • 3.How High the Moon
  • 4.Swing Guitars
  • 5.I Love You
  • 6.Tiger Rag
  • 7.Tears
  • 8.Dinah
  • 9.Them There Eyes
  • 10.Daphne
  • 11.How High the Moon
  • 12.Manoir de Mes Reves
  • 13.Danse Nuptiale
  • 14.Crazy Rhythm
  • 15.Improvisation No. 5
  • 16.Moppin' the Bride
  • 17.Troublant Bolero
  • 18.Cadillac Slim
  • 19.Nuages
  • 20.Improvisation Sur un Theme Mineur

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Improvisation Sur une Danse Norwegienne
  • 2.Festival 48
  • 3.Minor Swing
  • 4.Symphonie
  • 5.Troublant Bolero
  • 6.Lover
  • 7.Nuages
  • 8.Impromptu
  • 9.Margie
  • 10.Diminushing Blackness
  • 11.Dream of You
  • 12.Manoir de Mes Reves
  • 13.Jumpin' with Symphony Sid
  • 14.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 15.Yesterdays
  • 16.Lover
  • 17.Blues
  • 18.Time After Time
  • 19.Blues
  • 20.Jam Session (Fine and Dandy)

Product Description:

Personnel: Django Reinhardt (guitar); Django Reinhardt; Henri Baumgartner, Henri "Louson" Baumgartner (guitar); Jim Hayes (clarinet, alto saxophone); Hubert Rostaing (clarinet); Michel Attenoux (soprano saxophone); Hubert Fol (alto saxophone); B Zickefoose, Andrea Ross (tenor saxophone); Herb Bass, Jerry Stephan, Robin Gould, Jean Liesse, Aim‚ Barelli, Fernand Verstraete (trumpet); Nat Peck, Bill Decker, Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford, Shelton Heath, John Kirkpatrick (trombone); Larry Mann (piano); Fred Ermelin, Louis Vola, Pierre Michelot, Emmanuel Soudieux (bass guitar); Bill Bethel, Andre Jordan (drums); Joseph Reinhardt, Eugene Vees (guitar); St‚phane Grappelli (violin); Maurice Meunier, Gerard Leveque (clarinet); Les Lieber (alto saxophone); Bernard Hullin (trumpet); Maurice Vander, Raymond Fol, Eddie Bernard (piano); Arthur Motta, Pierre Lemarchand , Red Lacky, Jacques Martinon, Andr‚ Jourdan (drums).
Additional personnel: Joe Moser (alto saxophone); Bernie Cavaliere, Bill Zickefoose, Andre Ross (tenor saxophone); Ken Lowther (baritone saxophone); Lonnie Wilfong, Aime Barelli (trumpet); Benny Vaseur, Don Gardner (trombone); Hubert Fol (piano); Bob Decker (bass guitar); Nat Peck, Bill Decker, Sgt. Jack Platt, Herb Bass, Jerry Stephan, Larry Mann, Bill Bethel, Wal-Berg's Grand Symphonic Orchestra, Aime Barelli's Orchestra, Tony Proteau & His Orchestra, ATC Band, Robin Gould, Jim Hayes, Shelton Heath, Duke Ellington & His Orchestra, Jean Liesse, Hubert Rostaing, Fernand Verstraete, John Kirkpatrick, Michel Attenoux.
Audio Remasterer: Ted Kendall.
Liner Note Author: Drew Kent.
Recording information: Club Saint-Germain, Paris, France (12/01/1945-02/01/1953); Theare Des Galeries, Brussels, Belgium (12/01/1945-02/01/1953).
Photographer: Marcel Cerdan.
British mastering engineer Ted Kendall has provided a valuable service by compiling Django Reinhardt's 1940s radio broadcasts from France, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the U.S. The result is DJANGO ON THE RADIO, a five-disc set that overflows with Reinhardt's six-string wizardry. Kendall also remastered the recordings, so the sound quality is remarkably good, especially considering its source. But the music is still the focus: Reinhardt is flanked by fine musicians (among them his frequent collaborator Stephane Grappelli on violin), and there's plenty of excellent group interplay, but it's the master's command of the fretboard that truly dazzles.
JSP Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,580
  • UPC: 788065905323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.98/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)