Peggy Scott & Jo Jo Benson Very Best of Peggy Scott & Jo Jo Benson - Lover's Holiday

Get email alerts for Peggy Scott & Jo Jo Benson
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6021
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Peggy Scott & Jo Jo Benson were a strong R&B duo who were signed to Sun Records subsidiary SSI in the late '60s. "Lovers Holiday" and "Soul Shake" are perhaps the best-remembered. This collection recalls their glory days at SSI; just as recently as 1996 Scott was back on the charts with her controversial hit "Bill", about a woman who's losing her husband to another man.


  • 1.Lover's Holiday
  • 2.'Till The Morning Comes
  • 3.Money Don't Satisfy
  • 4.Blow Your Mind
  • 5.True Soul Lovin'
  • 6.Pure Love & Pleasure
  • 7.Fine As Frog Hair
  • 8.Sugar Maker
  • 9.I Want To Love Your Baby
  • 10.We Were Made For Each Other
  • 11.Let's Spend A Day Out In The Country
  • 12.Doin' Our Thing
  • 13.Pickin' Wild Mountain Berries
  • 14.When The Blind Leads The Blind
  • 15.Magic Fingers
  • 16.Big City Blues
  • 17.Lover's Heaven
  • 18.Every Little Bit Hurts
  • 19.We Got Our Bag
  • 20.Here With Me
  • 21.Love Will Come Sneaking Up On You
  • 22.Soulshake
  • 23.If That's The Only Way
  • 24.We're Gonna Get Back Together

Product Description:

Contains 24 tracks.
A large helping of Peggy Scott and Jo Jo Benson's recordings, a raucous duet who didn't exactly sing into each other eyes like Marvin & Tammi. They're more like the Soul Children; on some cuts Benson sounds like J. Blackfoot. The energetic duo bum rushes every song like ferocious, feeding lions. If a song didn't succeed, it wasn't because of lack of effort on their part. "Lover's Holiday" and "Soul Shake," two chart hits, are interspersed among 22 other grooves that received limited local or regional plays, and in some cases only backyard barbecue and cheat spot spins. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,806
  • UPC: 090431602126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)