Hank Thompson Collection 1946-62 (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Hank Thompson
CYBER MONDAY SALE: $10.98 Sale ends Nov 30
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $6.01 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  ZACR 3220
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: December 8, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Acrobat

Description by OLDIES.com:

Hank Thompson was one of the most important personalities in country music across several decades, keeping alive the spirit of western swing and the hillbilly roots of country music, performing with his highly-rated band The Brazos Valley Boys, while subsuming it into the honky-tonk style which characterised much of the successful and popular country music of this era. He was also a versatile vocal stylist, his hits including romantic ballads as well as his trademark swinging hardcore honky-tonk. He was a prolific hit-maker, and during the fifteen years or so covered by this collection had no less than 46 country hits, all of which are included in this great-value 57-track 2-CD collection. Those hits included the country No. 1s “Wild Side Of Life, “Rub-A-Dub” and “Wake Up, Irene”, plus twenty other Top 10 hits in the country charts. As well as featuring his hits for his primary record label, Capitol, this anthology also includes recordings from his early career on the small Blue Bonnet and Globe labels in 1946. It’s an entertaining showcase for one of country music’s most distinctive stylists of the post-war decades, and a comprehensive overview of the music which made him a fixture in the country charts through the 1950s.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Lonely Heart Knows
  • 2.My Starry-Eyed Texas Girl
  • 3.California Women
  • 4.What Are We Gonne Do About The Moonlight
  • 5.Humpty Dumpty Heart 
  • 6.Don't Flirt With Me
  • 7.Yesterday's Mail 
  • 8.Green Light 
  • 9.I Find You Cheatin' On Me 
  • 10.You Broke My Heart (In Little Bitty Pieces) 
  • 11.Whoa Sailor 
  • 12.Swing Wide Your Gate Of Love
  • 13.Soft Lips 
  • 14.The Grass Looks Greener Over Yonder 
  • 15.Give A Little, Take A Little
  • 16.Take A Look At This Broken Heart Of Mine
  • 17.A Broken Heart And A Glass Of Beer
  • 18.New Rovin' Gambler
  • 19.The Wild Side Of Life 
  • 20.Waiting In The Lobby Of Your Heart 
  • 21.The New Wears Off Too Fast 
  • 22.You're Walking On My Heart
  • 23.No Help Wanted 
  • 24.Rub-A-Dub-Dub 
  • 25.Yesterday's Girl 
  • 26.Wake Up Irene 
  • 27.A Fooler, A Faker 
  • 28.Breakin' The Rules 

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.We've Gone Too Far
  • 2.Honky Tonk Girl
  • 3.The New Green Light 
  • 4.If Lovin' You Is Wrong 
  • 5.Annie Over 
  • 6.Wildwood Flower
  • 7.Breakin' In Another Heart 
  • 8.Most Of All 
  • 9.Don't Take It Out On Me 
  • 10.Honey Honey Bee Ball 
  • 11.The Blackboard Of My Heart 
  • 12.I'm Not Mad, Just Hurt 
  • 13.Rockin' In The Congo 
  • 14.I Was The First One 
  • 15.Tears Are Only Rain 
  • 16.How Do You Hold A Memory 
  • 17.Squaws Along The Yukon 
  • 18.I've Run Out Of Tomorrows 
  • 19.You're Going Back To Your Old Ways Again 
  • 20.Anybody's Girl 
  • 21.Total Strangers 
  • 22.I Didn't Mean To Fall In Love 
  • 23.A Six Pack To Go 
  • 24.She's A Whole Lot Like You 
  • 25.Oklahoma Hills 
  • 26.Teach Me How To Lie 
  • 27.Hangover Tavern 
  • 28.That's The Recipe For A Heartache
  • 29.How Many Teardrops Will It Take
Acrobat Music

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,274
  • UPC: 824046322021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)