Carly Simon Boys In the Trees

Boys In the Trees
Get email alerts for Carly Simon
35 ratings
WINTER SALE: $10.43 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.56 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  WRH7
Brand New
Related products:
Carly Simon: Spy for $13.25

CD Details

  • Released: September 30, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Rhino Flashback


  • 1.You Belong To Me
  • 2.Boys In the Trees
  • 3.Back Down To Earth
  • 4.Devoted To You
  • 5.De Bat (Fly In Me Face)
  • 6.Haunting
  • 7.Tranquillo (Melt My Heart)
  • 8.You're the One
  • 9.In a Small Moment
  • 10.One Man Woman
  • 11.For Old Times Sake

Product Description:

Personnel: Carly Simon (vocals, acoustic guitar); James Taylor, Hamish Stuart (vocals, guitar); Luther Vandross (vocals); Stu Scharf (acoustic & electric guitars, Autoharp); Jeff Minorov (acoustic & electric guitars); John Hall, Hugh McCracken (electric guitar); Cornell DuPree, Eric Gale, Onnie McIntyre (guitar); Margaret Ross, Gloria Agostini (harp); Joe Farrell (flute); Harvey Estrin, George Marge (soprano & tenor recorders, alto saxophone); Phil Bodner (oboe); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Jaroslav Jakubovic, Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophones); David Sanborn (saxophone); Randy Brecker (trumpet); James Buffington, Brooks Tillotson (French horn); Eddie Bert, Barry Rogers (trombone); Richard Tee (acoustic & electric piano); Don Grolnick (piano, arp string ensemble); Ken Bischel (piano); David Carey (marimba); Gordon Edwards, Will Lee, Tony Levin (bass); Steve Gadd (drums); Crusher Bennett, Rubens Bassini (percussion); Roderick George, Ken Williams, John Hall, Alyia Orme, Lucy Simon, Joanna Simon, Steven Dickson, Marc Embree, Alex Ligertwood (background vocals).
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
Building on the strengths of its predecessor ANOTHER PASSENGER, BOYS IN THE TREES continues Carly Simon's artistic progress in the face of declining success on the pop singles charts. Unlike ANOTHER PASSENGER, Simon scored a hit off of BOYS IN THE TREES (the slinky "You Belong To Me"), but the whole is constructed in such a way that even that song gains strength in the context of the rest of the album.
Arif Mardin's production gives the album a high gloss sheen without making it sound like a disco bandwagon-jumper, even on the dancefloor-ready "Tranquillo (Melt My Heart)." The album is not without missteps--exhibit A is the bizarre fake-reggae "De Bat (Fly in Me Face)"--but as a whole, this is one of Simon's finest albums, and those wanting to move beyond her greatest hits compilations could do worse than start right here.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 57,306
  • UPC: 081227990114
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)