Manchild A Golden Classics Edition

A Golden Classics Edition
Get email alerts for Manchild
8 ratings
Sale: $3.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $11.39 (76% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5861
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Today Kenny "Babyface" Edmonds produces and writes hits for some of the hottest artists in the music business, but he cut his chops with the late '70s group, Manchild. Manchild worked the midwest circuit and developed a sound that mixed elements of rhythm and blues with Jazz. They scored an R&B hit in 1978 with "Especially For You" and went their separate years later that year; this disc brings together the two albums they recorded as a group.


  • 1.Red Hot Daddy
  • 2.(I Want To Feel Your) Power And Love
  • 3.Especially For You
  • 4.Takin' It To The Streets
  • 5.You Get What You Give
  • 6.We Need We
  • 7.These Are The Things That Are Special To Me
  • 8.Funky Situation
  • 9.Phuff
  • 10.Koriko
  • 11.Walk With Me
  • 12.If You Don't Tell No One
  • 13.Joy
  • 14.Rowdy-Dowdy Blues / Don't Get Me Rowdy
  • 15.Our Message
  • 16.Maybe My Baby
  • 17.On Tender Moment

Product Description:

Manchild: Flash Ferrell (vocals); Reggie Griffen (guitar, reeds, background vocals); Kenny "Babyface" Edmonds (guitar, background vocals); Chuckie Bush (keyboards, background vocals); Robert Parson (drums); Daryl Simmons (percussion, background vocals).
Released in 1997, after Babyface became one of the most popular and successful producers in pop music, Kenny "Babyface" Edmonds & Manchild is a career-spanning compilation that covers all three albums by the '70s soul outfit. The group had only one hit -- "Especially for You" in 1977 -- and, listening to this 17-track collection, it's easy to see why: they weren't very good. Manchild was certainly competent, and on a few songs Babyface suggests that he had the talent he eventually developed, but only diehard fans of the contemporary soul man -- or fans of vocalist Reggie Griffin, who later launched a solo career -- will need to explore this collection. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 58,411
  • UPC: 090431586129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)