Get email alerts for Flip Philips
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 5719
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: SUE P-1035 (1965)

Description by

Flip Philips became a star when he was still a soloist with Woody Herman's Herd in the mid '40s (he toured with jazz at the Philharmonic and his solos were met with wild applause). Equally adept at performing ballads, standards, and more jazz-inflected tunes, Philips does spectacularly well by all of them on this compact disc.


  • 1.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 2.Girl From Ipanema
  • 3.Nuages
  • 4.In A Mellow Tone
  • 5.Satin Doll
  • 6.Miss Thing
  • 7.I Remember Lester
  • 8.Just Say I Love Her
  • 9.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 10.Round Midnight

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Flip Phillips (tenor saxophone).
Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Personnel: Flip Phillips (tenor saxophone).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Taped not far from his home in sunny Florida in 1963, this rare example of Flip Philips recording as a leader during a 19-year hiatus that began in 1955 was initially released in May of 1963 as Flip in Florida, was reissued in 1965 as Flip Philips Revisited (Sue 1035), issued again in 1975 (Onyx 214), and then resurfaced on CD in 1996 (Collectables 5719). Philips, a Lester Young/Ben Webster-inspired improviser who also at times emulated Illinois Jacquet and Arnett Cobb, is heard on both tenor sax and the bass clarinet, an instrument he hadn't used before in a recording studio. The selection of titles traces an arc from the '20s to the '60s, with melodies composed by Maceo Pinkard, Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Django Reinhardt, Cootie Williams, Thelonious Monk and Antonio Carlos Jobim. Like most studio recordings by Philips, this is pure delight and is guaranteed to soothe the nerves and warm the hearts of all who take the time to listen. ~ arwulf arwulf
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13,707
  • UPC: 090431571927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)