Chris Hillman Like a Hurricane

Like a Hurricane
Get email alerts for Chris Hillman
9 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
sku:  CECH
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Sugarhill

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/00, p.100
3 stars out of 5 - "...Soundly constructed and immaculately produced..."


  • 1.Back's Against the Wall
  • 2.Angel's Cry
  • 3.Sooner or Later
  • 4.Carry Me Home
  • 5.Run Again
  • 6.Second Wind
  • 7.When You Walk in the Room
  • 8.Like a Hurricane
  • 9.Living on the Edge
  • 10.Forgiveness
  • 11.I'm Still Alive
  • 12.Heaven's Lullaby

Product Description:

Personnel: Chris Hillman (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin); Jim Monahan (acoustic, 12 string & electric guitars); David Lindley (slide guitar); Steve Hill (electric guitar); John Jorgenson (12 string guitar, percussion); Jay Dee Maness (steel guitar); Mike Monarch (bottleneck guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Josh Brands (hammered dulcimer); Skip Edwards (accordion); Ritchie Podolor (keyboards, percussion, tambourine); Jimmy Greenspoon (keyboards); John Patatucci, Lee Sklar, Jerry Scheff (bass); Steve Duncan (drums); Hal Blaine (percussion); Karen Blake, Jennifer Warnes, David Crosby, Carl Allen (background vocals).
Producers: Ritchie Polodor, John Jorgenson, Herb Pedersen.
Recorded at American Recording Company, Calabasas, California.
Personnel: Chris Hillman (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin); Jim Monahan (acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, mandolin); John Jorgenson (electric guitar, 12-string guitar, percussion); Michael Monarch (electric guitar, bottleneck guitar); Steve Hill (electric guitar); David Lindley (slide guitar); Jay Dee Maness (steel guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Skip Edwards (accordion); Jimmy Greenspoon (keyboards); Steve Duncan (drums); Hal Blaine (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Bill Cooper.
Recording information: American Recording Company, Calabasas, CA.
Photographer: Peter Figen.
This is a solid album of new and old songs by one of the founding fathers of country rock. Chris Hillman has a wonderful voice, great pop instincts, and a finely developed talent for splicing together country, bluegrass, and four-chord rock & roll. A highlight is a cover of the Searchers' "When You Walk in the Room" -- two minutes of pure jingle-jangle pop perfection. Although "Like a Hurricane" (the title track is a Hillman original, not the Neil Young song) seldom reaches the heights of "Bakersfield Bound," Hillman and Herb Pedersen's outstanding 1996 tribute to hard California country, this former Byrd and Flying Burrito Brother can still teach the young country crowd a thing or two. ~ Joel Roberts

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 015891387826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)