Tubby Hayes The Complete Tempo Recordings 1955-59 (6-CD)

Get email alerts for Tubby Hayes
SALE: $20.98
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $9.01 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
item number:  ZACR 6002
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: February 18, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Acrobat

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Jordu
  • 2.Orient Line
  • 3.May Ray
  • 4.Monsoon
  • 5.I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
  • 6.Sophisticated Lady
  • 7.Deuces Wild
  • 8.Fidelius
  • 9.Tootsie Roll
  • 10.Dance of the Aerophragytes
  • 11.There's No You
  • 12.Imagination
  • 13.Peace Pipe
  • 14.Evil Eyes
  • 15.There'll Never Be Another You
  • 16.Opus De Funk
  • 17.Straight Life
  • 18.Medley: The Little Giant / Orient Line
  • 19.Plymouth Rock
  • 20.Room 608
  • 21.Doggin' Around

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sophisticated Lady
  • 2.Mambo Tittoro
  • 3.I'll Remember April
  • 4.Ode To Ernie
  • 5.Foolin' Myself
  • 6.No, I Woodyn't
  • 7.Message To the Messengers
  • 8.Hall Hears the Blues
  • 9.Nicole
  • 10.Introduction By Tony Hall / Night In Tunisia
  • 11.Laker's Day

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Theme / Through the Night Roared the Overland Express
  • 2.Royal Ascot
  • 3.On a Misty Night
  • 4.On a Misty Night [Alternate Take]
  • 5.Cheek To Cheek/the Theme
  • 6.Oh, My!
  • 7.Plebus
  • 8.Reunion
  • 9.A Foggy Day
  • 10.Introduction By Tony Hall / What is This Thing Called Love?
  • 11.Some of My Best Friends Are Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Serpent
  • 2.Guys and Dolls
  • 3.Time Was
  • 4.Speak Low
  • 5.Cheek To Cheek
  • 6.Time Was
  • 7.Blues For Those Who Thus Desire
  • 8.The Eighth Wonder
  • 9.Mirage
  • 10.After Tea
  • 11.Stop the World, I Want To Get Off!
  • 12.In Salah
  • 13.Star Eyes
  • 14.The Monk

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.My Funny Valentine
  • 2.Day In, Day Out
  • 3.Wait and See
  • 4.The Toff
  • 5.Lakeland
  • 6.Sadie's Song
  • 7.Copper On the Beat
  • 8.Let Nature Take Its Course
  • 9.Slick Riff
  • 10.Big Ben Bounce
  • 11.Mirage
  • 12.Autumn In Cuba
  • 13.Fishin' the Blues
  • 14.Cheekie Chappie
  • 15.London Lament
  • 16.The Baron
  • 17.If This Isn't Love
  • 18.Easy To Love
  • 19.Whisper Not
  • 20.Autumn Leaves

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Too Close For Comfort
  • 2.Yesterdays
  • 3.Love Walked In
  • 4.Tin Tin Deo
  • 5.Embers
  • 6.Like Someone In Love
  • 7.The Surrey With the Fringe On Top
  • 8.Sunny Monday
  • 9.Blue Hayes

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Simon Spillett.
This whopping six-disc set comprises the early bop and hard bop solo output of tenor saxophone giant and bandleader (as well as a pianist and vibraphonist) Tubby Hayes, one of a handful of players who put British jazz on the map in the 1950s. Admired by American and European players alike, he stands as one of the great masters of the horn, period. Some of the other notable players that recorded with him during this historic period are trumpeters Jimmy Deuchar and Dickie Hawdon, bassist Pete Blannin, drummers Lennie Breslaw and Tony Crombie, and, of course, saxophonist Ronnie Scott, to name a few. The first two discs here are almost entirely devoted to the Tubby Hayes Orchestra (actually an octet), whose dates were released on 7" EPs as well as the LPs British Modern Jazz Scene 1956 and After Lights Out. The second also contains two tracks from the early Jazz Couriers, released on the historic Jazz at the Flamingo, recorded during in the summer of 1956. Disc three begins in 1957 with the album Tubby Hayes and the Jazz Couriers Featuring Ronnie Scott, recorded on August 8, as well as an alternate of "On a Misty Night" from a Tempo anthology. It is followed by four cuts -- including Hayes' killer "Plebus" from an August 15 session -- and capped off by a live date in February of 1958 that featured the band playing a spirited read of Scott's "Some of My Best Friends Are Blues" that carries over to the rest of the record, The Jazz Couriers in Concert, on disc four. The remainder contains the EP The Eighth Wonder -- Hayes also plays baritone, alto, vibes, and piano on the record -- with bassist Phil Bates and drummer Bill Eyden. It also includes six of the eight tracks from The Couriers of Jazz; the remaining two kick off disc five. The full-length London Jazz Quartet album is here, as well as the first half of the Jazz Couriers' The Last Word, from 1959. Disc six contains the final three jams from that album, which features a dynamite reading of George Gershwin's "Love Walked In." The last album in this set is Tubby's Groove, recorded in December 1959 with Jazz Couriers pianist Terry Shannon and drummer Phil Seaman, along with new bassist Jeff Clyne. The sound on this set is excellent; the music was remastered from original tapes, not vinyl. While it's worthy of complaint that the original albums are not presented wholly together, separated by discs, it's actually minor. Also included is a brilliant liner essay by British saxophonist Simon Spillett that's not only full of historical data, but cultural insight. This is a tremendous package from Acrobat and well recommended to Hayes fans and jazz enthusiasts. ~ Thom Jurek
Acrobat Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 40,490
  • UPC: 824046600228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.49/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)