Jeannie C. Riley Harper Valley P.T.A.: The Plantation Recordings 1968-70 (2-CD)

Harper Valley P.T.A.: The Plantation Recordings
Get email alerts for Jeannie C. Riley
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  38D8X
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 8, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Snapper UK

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Harper Valley PTA
  • 2.Widow Jones
  • 3.No Brass Band
  • 4.Mr. Harper
  • 5.Run, Jeanie, Run
  • 6.Shed Me No Tears
  • 7.The Cotton Patch
  • 8.Sippin' Shirley Thompson
  • 9.The Little Town Square
  • 10.The Ballad of Louise
  • 11.Satan Place
  • 12.Yesterday, All Day Long Today
  • 13.Yearbooks and Yesterdays
  • 14.What Was Her Name?
  • 15.Edna Burgoo
  • 16.My Scrapbook
  • 17.The Part of Honey
  • 18.Whatever Happened To Charlie Brown?
  • 19.The Girl Most Likely
  • 20.Back To School
  • 21.That's How It is With Him and Me
  • 22.Teardrops On Page Forty-Three
  • 23.Box of Memories
  • 24.A Taste of Tears
  • 25.The Rib
  • 26.Sunday After Church
  • 27.The Artist
  • 28.I'm Only a Woman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.A Real Woman
  • 2.There Never Was a Time
  • 3.Things Go Better With Love
  • 4.I'm the Woman
  • 5.The Wedding Cake
  • 6.Thin Ribbon of Smoke
  • 7.Our Minnie
  • 8.The Back Side of Dallas
  • 9.Country Girl
  • 10.A Change of Heart
  • 11.Am I That Easy To Forget?
  • 12.That's a No-No
  • 13.We Were Raised On Love
  • 14.I Almost Called Your Name
  • 15.Darling Days
  • 16.Wish You Were Here
  • 17.Your Old Love Letters
  • 18.I Love Him
  • 19.Wherever You Are
  • 20.The Generation Gap
  • 21.Fine Feathered Fowl
  • 22.Words, Names, Faces
  • 23.My Man
  • 24.He Made a Woman Out of Me
  • 25.Duty, Not Desire
  • 26.Games People Play
  • 27.Darkness Falls
  • 28.Holdin' On
  • 29.Okie From Muskogee
  • 30.To the Other Woman

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Roger Dopson.
In 1968, Jeannie C. Riley became one of the biggest stars in country music almost overnight when her recording of Tom T. Hall's "Harper Valley P.T.A." became a massive hit on both the C&W and pop charts, topping both at a time when there was precious little crossover between the formats. While Riley would never enjoy another success as great as "Harper Valley P.T.A.," she fared well on the country charts over the next few years, and her records were fine stuff, with Riley's voice well suited to the tough, sassy attack of "The Cotton Patch," "Harper Valley P.T.A.," and "The Widow Jones," as well as darker, more thoughtful material like "No Brass Band," "Shed Me No Tears," and the proto-feminist "The Rib." Harper Valley P.T.A.: The Plantation Recordings 1968-70 collects 58 tunes Riley recorded for Shelby Singleton's Plantation label during her first burst of fame, comprising her first five albums in full -- Harper Valley P.T.A., Yearbooks and Yesterdays, Things Go Better with Love, Country Girl, and The Generation Gap. While there have been a number of collections of Riley's hits, Harper Valley P.T.A.: The Plantation Recordings is the most thorough collection to date of Riley's most fruitful period, and restores a number of rare sides to her catalog. ~ Mark Deming

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,506
  • UPC: 803415765621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.33/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)