Bruce Channel Hey! Baby - A Golden Classics Edition

Hey! Baby - A Golden Classics Edition
Get email alerts for Bruce Channel
12 ratings
SALE: $12.99
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $1.98 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 40021
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Texan singer/songwriter Bruce Channel had one of the biggest hits of the early '60s with "Hey! Baby!" which rose all the way to number one on the Pop charts in 1962. The harmonica intro was revolutionary at the time and is said to have influenced The Beatles, particularly with their "Love Me Do." Channel recorded frequently and was also a dynamic live performer; you'll hear the best of his work in this collection.


  • 1.Hey! Baby
  • 2.Breakin' Up Is Hard To Do
  • 3.Baby, It's You
  • 4.Chantilly Lace
  • 5.Ain't Got No Home
  • 6.Sorry Baby
  • 7.Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
  • 8.Since I Met You Baby
  • 9.Love Me
  • 10.If Only I Had Known
  • 11.Dream Girl
  • 12.Baby, You've Got What It Takes
  • 13.Number One Man
  • 14.Mine Exclusively

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Bruce Channel (vocals); Bob Jones, Billy Sanders (guitar); Delbert McClinton (harmonica); Jim Rogers (bass); Ray Torres (drums).
Recorded in 1961.
Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Nineteen of his vintage sides, many mining the same Cajun/Tex-Mex/shuffle groove as "Hey Baby," sometimes simply rewriting the song sideways by inserting or mildly modifying its key riffs. It's still highly enjoyable stuff, just too derivative of his one great hit to qualify him as a true original. McClinton plays harmonica on several of the tracks, and also wrote one of them, "My Baby"; the LP also includes his 1968 British hit "Keep On." The sound and liner notes aren't that great; this interesting early exponent of southern swamp rock deserves a more carefully packaged retrospective on CD. ~ Richie Unterberger
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,678
  • UPC: 090431562321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)