Black Eyed Man
Get email alerts for Cowboy Junkies
24 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  SSP 29477
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 11, 1992
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/6/92, p.73
4 Stars - Excellent - "..[Michael] Timmins emerges on "Black Eyed Man" as a storyteller to be reckoned with.."
Q - 3/92, p.77
4 Stars - Excellent - "..Mysterious and seductive.."


  • 1.Southern Rain
  • 2.Oregon Hill
  • 3.This Street, That Man, This Life
  • 4.A Horse in the Country
  • 5.If You Were the Woman and I Was the Man
  • 6.Murder, Tonight, In the Trailer Park
  • 7.Black Eyed Man
  • 8.Winter's Song
  • 9.The Last Spike
  • 10.Cowboy Junkies Lament
  • 11.Townes' Blues
  • 12.To Live Is to Fly

Product Description:

Cowboy Junkies: Margo Timmins (vocals); Michael Timmins (guitar); Alan Anton (bass); Peter Timmins (drums).
Additional personnel: John Prine (vocals); Ken Myhr, Tony Quarrington (guitar); Bob Doidge (guitar, cello); Dave Allen (fiddle); Jeff Bird (mandolin, harmonica); Lewis Melville (banjo); Don Rook (lap steel guitar); Spencer Evans (clarinet, piano); Jaro Czerwinec (accordion); Tom Walsh, Rob Summerville (trombone); Colin Couch (tuba); David Houghton (percussion); The Maureen Doidge Tambourine Orkestrah (tambourine); Townes Van Zandt.
Recorded at Grant Avenue Studios, Hamilton, Canada in 1991.
Personnel: John Prine (vocals); Ken Myhr, Margo Timmins, Michael Timmins, Tony Quarrington (guitar); Bob Doidge (acoustic guitar, cello); Lewis Melville (banjo); Jeff Bird (mandolin, harmonica); Dave Allen (fiddle); Jaro Czerwinec (accordion); Spencer Evans (clarinet, piano); Rob Summerville, Tom Walsh (trombone); Colin Couch (tuba); Peter Timmins (drums); Dave Houghton (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Cowboy Junkies; Tom Henderson ; Peter Moore.
Recording information: Grant Avenue Studios, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada (1991).
Illustrator: Matthew Cooper.
Photographer: Rex Miller.
The Cowboy Junkies' Black-Eyed Man is an excellent return to form following their disappointing third LP, The Caution Horses. Where Michael Timmins' songwriting was stilted and overly self-conscious on the previous record, here his character studies are literate and finely-etched; like Robbie Robertson before him, Timmins' Canadian roots allow him to view the rural American experience with unique objectivity, and narratives like the opening "Southern Rain" and "Murder, Tonight, in the Trailer Park" are told with compassion and cinematic detail. Black-Eyed Man also broadens the Junkies' musical horizons: "If You Were the Woman and I Was the Man," a duet with John Prine, is like a '50s-era love song intercepted from an alternate reality; while tracks like the lilting "A Horse in the Country" push the group closer to the folk-pop territory of 10,000 Maniacs. At the same time, their country roots are further reinforced by a pair of outstanding Townes Van Zandt covers, "Cowboy Junkies Lament" and "To Live Is to Fly"; sandwiched between them is Timmins' own tribute, "Townes' Blues." ~ Jason Ankeny
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 40,624
  • UPC: 886972947723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)