Victor Wooten Soul Circus

Get email alerts for Victor Wooten
25 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $17.20 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $0.78 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  WWVY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 12, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Vanguard Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.119
"Extremely versatile and flamboyant, Nashville bassist Victor Wooten is a dominating, exciting personality on electric bass, something that's reaffirmed by the best pieces on SOUL CIRCUS."


  • 1.Adam (Intro)
  • 2.Victa
  • 3.Bass Tribute
  • 4.Prayer
  • 5.Natives
  • 6.Can't Hide Love
  • 7.Stay
  • 8.On and on (Saundra)
  • 9.Cell Phone
  • 10.Back to India
  • 11.Soul Circus
  • 12.Higher Law
  • 13.Take U There
  • 14.Ari's Eyes
  • 15.Kids (Outro)
  • 16.Bass Tribute (Reprise)

Product Description:

Personnel: Victor Wooten (vocals, guitar, sitar, keyboards, midi bass, acoustic bass guitar, bass guitar, drums, electronic drums, drum programming, scratches); Bill Miller (vocals, flute, frame drum, shaker); Joseph Wooten (vocals, keyboards); Kurt Storey, Steve Bailey, T.M. Stevens , Will Lee (vocals, bass guitar); Christian McBride, Kaila Wooten, Gary Grainger , John Cowan, Alvin Chea, Oteil Burbridge, Saundra Williams, Bill Dickens, Adam Wooten, MC Divinity, Kit Leblanc, Kelly Gravely, Rhonda Smith , Bootsy Collins (vocals); Count Bass D, Speech , MC Sookie (rap vocals); Arianna Wooten, Holly Wooten, Radmila Bowers, Jeremiah Abel (spoken vocals); Regi Wooten, Larry Jarvis (guitar); Eric Silver (acoustic guitar); Shawn "Thunder" Wallace (saxophone); Rod McGaha (trumpet); Barry Green (trombone); Jacques Jones (bass guitar); Dennis Chambers, Howard Levy, J.D. Blair, Derico Watson (drums); T.H. Subash Chandran (ghatam, percussion); Ganesh Kumar (kanjira); Darrell Tibbs (percussion).
Anyone who knows anything about Victor Wooten knows that he's one of those rare souls: he gains a rep for playing the bass. Soul Circus, however, isn't just an extravaganza for bass players. Wooten, as it turns out, is also a heck of a writer and, as the listener will learn on the first track, a fine singer. The unusual first track, "Victa," is a funky, soulful hymn in praise of -- who else -- Wooten himself, while "Bass Tribute" offers accolades to those who've come before him. If the subject matter sounds a bit strange, the confident delivery, understated humor, and fine songwriting make it all work. Soul Circus' production is a nice merger of keyboards, drums, lots of bass, and multiple voices. While this combination and Wooten's production does provide a blueprint sound for the album, it's never predictable. "Back to India," for example, combines soul and sitar for an unusual but winning mixture. There are other oddities like "Cell Phone," complete with dialer effects, spiritually tinged material like "Prayer" and "Back to India," and songs about the power of love such as "Can't Hide Love." Overall, Soul Circus has the adventurous, confident feel of an old Sly Stone album while still being completely of its time. It's also certain that the album will convince listeners that Wooten, while still a fine bass player, has many talents. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 121,296
  • UPC: 015707978521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)