George Jones Amazing Grace

Amazing Grace
Get email alerts for George Jones
66 ratings
Sale: $11.68
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $4.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $8 (62% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  3895E
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 10, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Welk Records


  • 1.Amazing Grace
  • 2.In the Garden
  • 3.How Beautiful Heaven Must Be
  • 4.Why Me Lord
  • 5.Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • 6.Peace in the Valley
  • 7.Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  • 8.Lonesome Valley
  • 9.What a Friend We Have a Jesus
  • 10.Softly and Tenderly
  • 11.Great Judgment Morning (feat. Waylon Jennings, Jesse Colter, Travis Tritt, Ricky Skaggs)
  • 12.The Old Rugged Cross

Product Description:

Personnel: Bruce Watkins, Brian Ahern (acoustic guitar); John Willis, Reggie Young , J.T. Corenflos , Brent Mason (electric guitar); John Hughy, Paul Franklin (steel guitar); Marty Stuart (mandolin); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Gary Prim (keyboards); Eddie Bayers (drums); Curtis Young, Louis Nunley, Michael Black, Ray Walker, Millie Kirkum, Mark Ivey, Sheri Copeland, Bergen White, Gordon Stoker (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Donivan Cowart; Billy Sherrill.
Recording information: Emerald Studios, Nashville, TN (1993).
The first posthumous release from George Jones is an archival release that was planned prior to his death in April 2013. Amazing Grace excavates a gospel album Jones recorded in 2002 with his longtime producer and collaborator Billy Sherrill. The two parted ways in 1991 when Jones jumped from Epic to MCA. Around the same time, Sherrill slipped into retirement and by most accounts he wasn't much interested in returning to the studio, but George convinced him to produce a collection of gospel tunes. Although Jones had released several gospel albums over the years -- Homecoming in Heaven appeared on UA in 1962; ten years later We Love to Sing About Jesus appeared on Epic -- but what turned into 2003's The Gospel Collection were his first dedicated album sessions for religious work, which is noteworthy but perhaps not as noteworthy as it being the last time Jones and Sherrill worked together. Although the production is perhaps a shade too crisp and clean, all of Sherrill's hallmarks are in place -- this is dramatic and lush, filled with crystalline guitars, echoing pianos, and creamy backing vocals -- providing a nice coda to their historic collaboration. Amazing Grace contains half of the 24 songs originally released on the 2003 double-disc The Gospel Collection (and one tune, "Great Judgement Morning," is a Brian Ahern production from 1994), but it gets these very, very nice and thoroughly underappreciated recordings back into circulation, which is a good start to Jones' posthumous career. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,059
  • UPC: 015707834025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)