The Esquires Get On Up - A Golden Classics Edition

Get email alerts for The Esquires
13 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.30 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $2.68 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD-R
item number:  36SJ5
Brand New

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Soul quintet The Esquires were another group who formed when its members were still in high school - in this case, North Division High School in Milwaukee. The group got together in 1957, and after some personnel changes, began hitting the charts in 1967, with "Get On Up", "And Get Away", and other songs which are featured on this classics collection.


  • 1.And Get Away
  • 2.Listen To Me
  • 3.How Was I To Know
  • 4.Groovin'
  • 5.Everybody's Laughing
  • 6.How Could It Be
  • 7.Get On Up
  • 8.My Sweet Baby
  • 9.No Doubt About It
  • 10.Women
  • 11.When I'm Ready
  • 12.Things Won't Be The Same

Product Description:

The Esquires includes: Gilbert Moorer, Alvis Moorer, Betty Moorer, Millard Edwards.
This CD reissue of the Esquires' classic debut LP will have you wondering why big-time success eluded the harmony-laden foursome. The often-changing lineup consisted at this point of Gilbert Moorer, Alvis Moorer, Shawn Taylor, and Millard Edwards. Edwards, who sang with the Sheppards, was from Chicago, while the other three were Milwaukee natives. Everyone is familiar with "Get On Up," a monster, and its knock-off follow-up, "And Get Away"; however, not many know of the excellent slow and mid-tempo numbers that B-sided their faster A-sides. Gilbert, Taylor, and Edwards shared the leads (Sam Pace later replaced Taylor). Gilbert's soaring falsetto and Edwards' deep bottom made all their songs interesting. If you can find the import on London's Westside label, Get On Up...And Get Way with the Esquires, then go for it -- it has 23 cuts, compared to the 12 on this one. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,857
  • UPC: 090431551721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)