Our New Orleans: A Benefit Album (Expanded Edition) (2LPs)
by Various Artists

Mojo (Publisher): 4 stars out of 5 -- "Trad jazz emanates from Dr. Michael White and the Preservation Hall regulars, while lesser-knowns like Davell Crawford and blues veteran Carol Frank almost steal the show."
SALE: $26.50
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3.48 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP  (2 Records)
item number:  NON 6436281
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 2
  • Released: January 29, 2021
  • Originally Released: 2021
  • Label: Nonesuch

Description by OLDIES.com:

This 2021 remastered, expanded edition of the soul-stirring 2005 benefit album Our New Orleans includes five previously unreleased tracks as well as the original performances by Allen Toussaint, Dr. John, Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Irma Thomas, Wild Magnolias, Buckwheat Zydeco, Randy Newman, and others. The album has thus far raised $1.5 million Habitat for Humanity’s post-Katrina rebuilding effort. "Rife with stirring performances," says the Washington Post, "Our New Orleans has the soul of the city."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Yes We Can Can - Allen Toussaint
  • 2.World I Never Made - Dr. John
  • 3.Back Water Blues - Irma Thomas
  • 4.Gather by the River - Davell Crawford
  • 5.Cryin' in the Streets - Buckwheat Zydeco
  • 6.Canal Street Blues - Dr. Michael White
  • 7.Brother John Is Gone / Herc-Jolly-John - The Wild Magnolias
  • 8.When the Saints Go Marching In - Eddie Bo
  • 9.My Feet Can't Fail Me Now - The Dirty Dozen Brass Band
  • 10.Tou' les Jours €'est Pas la Mˆme - Carol Fran

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ouragon, L' - BeauSoleil
  • 2.Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans - Davell Crawford / Preservation Hall Jazz Band
  • 3.Prayer for New Orleans - Ry Cooder / Buckwheat Zydeco / Charlie Miller
  • 4.What a Wonderful World - Preservation Hall Jazz Band / Wardell Quezergue Orchestra
  • 5.Tipitina and Me - Allen Toussaint / Charlie Miller
  • 6.Louisiana 1927 - Members of the New York Philharmonic / Dr. Michael White / Randy Newman / Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 7.Do You Know What It Means [Bonus Track] - Davell Crawford / Dr. John
  • 8.Let's Work Togethe [Bonus Track]r - Ry Cooder / Buckwheat Zydeco / Wardell Quezergue Orchestra - (featuring Donald Harrison)
  • 9.Crescent City Serenade [Bonus Track] - Dr. Michael White / Allen Toussaint
  • 10.Walking By the River [Bonus Track] - Dr. John / Wardell Quezergue Orchestra - (featuring Donald Harrison)
  • 11.Do You Know What It Means [Bonus Track] - Randy Newman / Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra / Wardell Quezergue Orchestra
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,675
  • UPC: 075597918458
  • Shipping Weight: 1.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)