Shawn Colvin A Few Small Repairs

Q: 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Colvin confirms her position as a major vocalist wiht emotive phrasing and poignant lyrics....the album rolls out a series of personal parables that are at once chilling and insightful..."
Get email alerts for Shawn Colvin
MASSIVE CD SALE: $8.20 Limited Time Only
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  6FR4H
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 15, 2017
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/25/96, pp.116-117
"...Full of wisdom and ravishing melodies, REPAIRS is a tour de force that needs no fixing."
- Rating: A
Q - 11/96, p.120
4 Stars - Excellent - "...Colvin confirms her position as a major vocalist wiht emotive phrasing and poignant lyrics....the album rolls out a series of personal parables that are at once chilling and insightful..."
Paste (magazine) - "The beauty of A FEW SMALL REPAIRS is that Colvin leaves everything out in the open and asks you whether you're willing to pick through the rubble with her. Grab a shovel and start digging."


  • 1.Sunny Came Home
  • 2.Get Out of This House
  • 3.The Facts About Jimmy
  • 4.You and the Mona Lisa
  • 5.Trouble
  • 6.I Want It Back
  • 7.If I Were Brave
  • 8.Wichita Skyline
  • 9.84,000 Different Delusions
  • 10.Suicide Alley
  • 11.New Thing Now
  • 12.Nothin on Me
  • 13.Sunny Came Home [Live at KFOG]
  • 14.Trouble [Live from Columbia Records Radio Hour]
  • 15.Get Out of This House [Live at KFOG]
  • 16.The Facts About Jimmy [Live at the Ryman]
  • 17.You and the Mona Lisa [Live at the Ryman]
  • 18.If I Were Brave [Live from Columbia Records Radio Hour]
  • 19.Ricochet in Time [Live at the Ryman]

Product Description:

Personnel: Shawn Colvin (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, hand claps, trash can); John Leventhal (vocals, pedal steel & electric guitars, guitar, mandolin, violin, harmonica, organ, keyboards, bass, percussion); Sandra Park, Carol Webb (violin); Robert Rinehart (viola); Eugene Moye (cello); Rick Depofi (piccolo, recorder, clarinet, bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Chris Botti (trumpet); Tony Kadlek (flugelhorn); Bob Carlisle (French horn); Larry Farrell (trombone); Michael Rhodes, Mark Plati (bass); Shawn Pelton (drums, percussion); Danny Ferrington, Judith Owen, Lyle Lovett, Kate Markowitz (background vocals).
Engineers include: John Leventhal.
Recorded at Sear Sound, 12th Street Studio and Shelter Island Sound, New York, New York; Cedar Creek Recording, Austin, Texas; Sony Studios, Los Angeles, California.
"Get Out Of This House" was nominated for a 1997 Grammy Award for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.
A FEW SMALL REPAIRS was nominated for a 1997 Grammy for Best Pop Album.
"Sunny Came Home" won the 1998 Grammy Awards for Record Of The Year and Song Of The Year, and was nominated for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.
When folk-rock and adult contemporary pop merged in the early '90s to give birth to the adult album alternative radio format, scores of singer-songwriters took the opportunity to bland out for big bucks, shortchanging listeners in the process. Shawn Colvin has emerged as the savior of AAA, bringing classy arrangements and high-quality songwriting to the mix, and inspiring a legion of imitators along the way.
Colvin's voice is a supple, elastic thing, bending notes and phrases to suit the idiosyncratic elan that is her trademark. Her songs combine ingratiating pop sensibilities with incisive, often poetic lyrics. Together with producer/guitarist John Leventhal, Colvin has created a sonic landscape that seduces the listener with rich, atmospheric washes of guitar and unabashedly pretty horn and string arrangements, while never obscuring the simple melodic statements that are the foundation of the songs. A FEW SMALL REPAIRS is the ideal pop confection; light and sweet on the surface, with a thick, chewy center.
Audio Mixer: Bob Clearmountain.
Audio Remasterer: Vic Anesini.
Liner Note Authors: John Leventhal; Shawn Colvin.
Recording information: 12th Street Studio (09/10/1996); Cedar Creek recording, Austin, TX (09/10/1996); Los Angeles, CA (09/10/1996); Ryman Auditorium, Nashville, TN (09/10/1996); Sear Sound (09/10/1996); Shelter Island Sound, New York City (09/10/1996); Sony Studios, Los Angeles, CA (09/10/1996); The Plant Studios, Sausalito, CA. (09/10/1996).
Photographer: Cynthia Levine.
This 1996 release not only went platinum, it won two Grammy awards for singer/songwriter Shawn Colvin. Clearly her breakthrough album, A FEW SMALL REPAIRS combines folk with elegant pop and a healthy dose of Texas rock. The result is a unique alternative-country vibe that roots itself in rural America. However, this disc is also influenced by later Beatles albums, most notably ABBEY ROAD and LET IT BE.
Overall, A FEW SMALL REPAIRS is marked by probing lyrics, beautiful refrains, and deep-pocketed grooves. The record's hit, "Sunny Came Home," makes obtuse reference to women's autonomy and spiritual transcendence using fire as a metaphor for burning away the pain of the past. However, the most poignant track on this disc is "If I Were Brave," a song about relentless self-doubt. Colvin sings with unbridled venerability on this tune, and her folksy lyric recalls the confessional writing style of Don McLean. Other tracks such as "Get Out of This House" and "I Want It Back" are more guitar-driven and upbeat. These contrast with the darker, more brooding compositions written by Colvin, often with assistance from producer John Leventhal.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 115,535
  • UPC: 889854485320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)