Get email alerts for Tiny Grimes
Price: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  COL 5304
Brand New

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Here one of the most electric of electric guitar players joins forces with Screamin' Jay Hawkins, one of rock and soul's most theatrical figures and outrageous performers.


  • 1.Tiny's Jump (Previously Unreleased)
  • 2.Hey Now
  • 3.Why Did You Waste My Time?
  • 4.St. Louis Blues
  • 5.Drinking Beer
  • 6.My Baby's Left Me
  • 7.Frankie And Johnny Boogie 1
  • 8.Hey Mr. J. B. (Previously Unreleased)
  • 9.Battle Of The Mass (Previously Unreleased)
  • 10.I'm In Love With You Baby (Previously Unreleased)
  • 11.My Baby's Cool
  • 12.Hawaiian Boogie
  • 13.No Hug No Kiss (Previously Unreleased)
  • 14.Frankie And Johnny Boogie 2

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Tony Burke.
Liner Note Author: Tony Burke.
Tiny Grimes gained some fame near the end of the swing era for being one of the first electric guitarists influenced by Charlie Christian, for leading a date that featured the young Charlie Parker, and for his work with the Art Tatum Trio. By 1948 he was leading a group called the Rocking Highlanders, who dressed in kilts! Rather than playing Scottish music (other than "Loch Lomond"), the band leaned toward R&B, with plenty of heated solos from tenor saxophonist Red Prysock. Grimes has long been underrated, particularly for his work during this period, but his solos are excellent, being essentially swing even when played over basic structures. He recorded for several labels during the era, and this CD is drawn from his performances for Gotham. Unfortunately, the music jumps around a lot chronologically, but the selections are certainly easy to enjoy. Screamin' Jay Hawkins, despite getting such a high billing, actually has only two vocals (his recording debut), although there are vocal features for J.B. Summers and Haji Baba and some tenor spots for Benny Golson and John Hardee in addition to Prysock. Hopefully someday this music will be reissued complete and in chronological order, but for now this set will suffice. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,401
  • UPC: 090431530429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)