Wilbert Harrison Kansas City - His Legendary Golden Classics

Get email alerts for Wilbert Harrison
16 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  COL 5294
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Wilbert Harrison joined the W.C. Baker band before striking out on his own. Today he's best remembered for his #1 R&B and Pop hit "Kansas City" but by no means was this talented singer a one-hit wonder. The body of his work (showcased in this classics collection) is not strictly R&B - much of his work is tinged with Country and Gospel stylings. Also features the extended version of "Let's Work Together."


  • 1.Kansas City
  • 2.Let's Work Together (Parts 1 & 2)
  • 3.Don't Drop It
  • 4.Stagger Lee
  • 5.C.C. Rider
  • 6.Cheatin' Baby
  • 7.The Horse
  • 8.Stand By Me
  • 9.Since I Fell For You
  • 10.Have Some Fun
  • 11.My Love
  • 12.1960
  • 13.Blue Monday
  • 14.Don't Wreck My Life
  • 15.Why Did You Leave?
  • 16.Walking By The River
  • 17.Da-De-Ya-Da
  • 18.Listen My Darling
  • 19.Forgive Me
  • 20.Pretty Little Woman
  • 21.Poison Ivy
  • 22.A Woman In Trouble
  • 23.It Took A Long Time
  • 24.Messed Around And Fell In Love
  • 25.Goodbye Kansas City

Product Description:

Personnel: Wilbert Harrison (vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, drums).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
After his pop smash "Kansas City," Wilbert Harrison never recorded a single to match it, the only close call being his other chart hit, the pleasantly grooving "Let's Work Together." Those songs lead off this Collectables set (the second appears in its full two-part version), followed by a parade of Harrison's versions of R&B hits of the '50s and '60s, among them "C.C. Rider," "Stand by Me," "Blue Monday," and "Stagger Lee." These weren't just tossoffs, though. Harrison's performances were more interesting than the usual R&B crossovers of the day; he possessed the pacing of an urbane blues vocalist like Jimmy Rushing but his delivery and pitch were oddly reminiscent of honky tonk singers (check out his especially strong version of the Lenny Welch hit "Since I Fell for You"). "Kansas City" and "Let's Work Together" are his only true classics, but Wilbert Harrison recorded some other solid material during his time with Bobby Robinson's Fury label. ~ John Bush
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 28,310
  • UPC: 090431529423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)