The Joneses Early Soul Years - Golden "Soul" Classics From The 70's

Get email alerts for The Joneses
18 ratings
Price: $12.20
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $2.78 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  X2A6
Brand New
Related products:

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Joneses first came together in 1969, when R&B groups were expected to be both singers and dancers (like The Temps). The Jones were better singers than dancers, and first scored with "Pretty, Pretty", "Mary Mary" and "Pull My String" before they were signed by Mercury. Their first hit "Baby Don't Do It" was a regional. The group first broke up in 1975 and since then there have been four different sets of Joneses. This collection features one bonus track by the current group members - "Break Your Promise".


  • 1.Pretty Pretty
  • 2.Break Your Promise (Part 1)
  • 3.Break Your Promise (Part 2)
  • 4.Pull My String
  • 5.Merry Go Round
  • 6.Movin' On (Part 1)
  • 7.Movin' On (Part 2)
  • 8.I Can't See What You See In Me
  • 9.Mary, Mary (Don't It Make You Feel So Bad)
  • 10.Baby Don't Do It
  • 11.Hold Up
  • 12.Sweetwater Boy
  • 13.Hot And Cold
  • 14.Win Your Love

Product Description:

The Joneses: Glenn Dorsey, Sylvester Brooks, Reginald Noble, Wendell Noble, Sam White.
Includes liner notes by Glenn Dorsey.
Personnel: Glenn Dorsey (vocals, percussion); William Jones, John Henderson, Thomas Richardson (vocals); Cornell Dupree, Lee Valentine, E. Gayle, Carl Lynch (guitar); T. Dent, D. Moore, I. Baptiste, G. Turner, Garnett Brown, M. Holder, C. Green, Jabbo Smith, S. Powell, Jon Faddis (horns); E Mauge (keyboards, synthesizer, drums, percussion); A. Williams (keyboards, synthesizer); D. Gourdin, Richard Tee (keyboards); C. Perry, Bill Lavorgna, J. Johnson, D Crudup, R. Rodriguez, Allan Schwartzberg (drums); W. Smith (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Chuck "Fingers" Irwin; Glenn Dorsey; Pat Jacques.
Liner Note Author: Glenn Dorsey.
Recording information: Broadway Studios; Campbells Sound; Couterpoint Studios; J.R. Studios.
Arrangers: E Mauge; Obie Massingill; Glenn Dorsey; Lee Valentine; Richard Tee; Carlos Franzetti.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 21,228
  • UPC: 090431523728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)