ZZ Top The Complete Studio Albums (1970-1990) (10-CD)

Get email alerts for ZZ Top
Price: $55
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $4.98 (8% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (10 Discs)
item number:  37874
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 10
  • Released: June 11, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Rhino

Description by OLDIES.com:

Warner Bros. Records explores the impressive scope of ZZ TOP's musical legacy with a boxed set that includes the original mixes for the band's first 10 albums.

The set, including the albums initially released on the London label as well as the string of Warner Bros. Hits that followed, includes ZZ Tops' First Album (1971), Rio Grande Mud (1972), Tres Hombres (1973), Fandango! (1975) (with original track line-up), Tejas (1976), Deguello (1979), El Loco (1981), Eliminator (1983), Afterburner (1985) and Recycler (1990). Each album is presented in a wallet sleeve that faithfully reproduces the original artwork, including the gatefold designs used for Tres Hombres and Tejas. The set presents, for the first time on CD, the original mixes for ZZ Tops' First Album, Rio Grande Mud and Tejas that have long been on the wish lists of the band's most fervent fans.

The collection spans 100 tracks that follow the band's journey from the honky tonks of Texas to the stages of the world, starting with the earthy blues and electrifying boogie that defined their '70s sound - "Just Got Paid," "La Grange," "Tush" and "Cheap Sunglasses." THE COMPLETE STUDIO ALBUMS closes with the familiar synthesizers featured on the group's biggest singles from the '80s - "Legs" and "Sharp Dressed Man" from the Diamond-certified Eliminator, and the #1 hits "Sleeping Bag" and "Stages" from its multi-platinum follow-up Afterburner.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.(Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree
  • 2.Brown Sugar
  • 3.Squank
  • 4.Goin' Down to Mexico
  • 5.Old Man
  • 6.Neighbor, Neighbor
  • 7.Certified Blues
  • 8.Bedroom Thang
  • 9.Just Got Back from Baby's
  • 10.Backdoor Love Affair

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Francine
  • 2.Just Got Paid
  • 3.Mushmouth Shoutin'
  • 4.Ko Ko Blue
  • 5.Chevrolet
  • 6.Apologies to Pearly
  • 7.Bar-B-Q
  • 8.Sure Got Cold After the Rain Fell
  • 9.Whiskey'n Mama
  • 10.Down Brownie

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Waitin' for the Bus
  • 2.Jesus Just Left Chicago
  • 3.Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
  • 4.Master of Sparks
  • 5.Hot, Blue and Righteous
  • 6.Move Me on Down the Line
  • 7.Precious and Grace
  • 8.La Grange
  • 9.Shiek
  • 10.Have You Heard?

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Thunderbird
  • 2.Jailhouse Rock
  • 3.Backdoor Medley: Backdoor Love Affair / Mellow Down Easy / Backdoor Love Affair No. 2/Long Distance Boogie
  • 4.Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings
  • 5.Blue Jean Blues
  • 6.Balinese
  • 7.Mexican Blackbird
  • 8.Heard It on the X
  • 9.Tush

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.It's Only Love
  • 2.Arrested for Driving While Blind
  • 3.Diablo, El
  • 4.Snappy Kakkie
  • 5.Enjoy and Get It On
  • 6.Ten Dollar Man
  • 7.Pan Am Highway Blues
  • 8.Avalon Hideaway
  • 9.She's a Heartbreaker
  • 10.Asleep in the Desert

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.I Thank You
  • 2.She Loves My Automobile
  • 3.I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide
  • 4.A Fool for Your Stockings
  • 5.Manic Mechanic
  • 6.Dust My Broom
  • 7.Lowdown on the Street
  • 8.Hi Fi Mama
  • 9.Cheap Sunglasses
  • 10.Esther Be the One

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Tube Snake Boogie
  • 2.I Wanna Drive You Home
  • 3.Ten Foot Pole
  • 4.Leila
  • 5.Don't Tease Me
  • 6.It's So Hard
  • 7.Pearl Necklace
  • 8.Groovy Little Hippie Pad
  • 9.Heaven, Hell or Houston
  • 10.Party on the Patio

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.Gimme All Your Lovin
  • 2.Got Me Under Pressure
  • 3.Sharp Dressed Man
  • 4.I Need You Tonight
  • 5.I Got the Six
  • 6.Legs
  • 7.Thug
  • 8.TV Dinners
  • 9.Dirty Dog
  • 10.If I Could Only Flag Her Down
  • 11.Bad Girl

Tracks on Disc 9:

  • 1.Sleeping Bag
  • 2.Stages
  • 3.Woke Up with Wood
  • 4.Rough Boy
  • 5.Can't Stop Rockin'
  • 6.Planet of Women
  • 7.I Got the Message
  • 8.Velcro Fly
  • 9.Dipping Low (In the Lap of Luxury)
  • 10.Delirious

Tracks on Disc 10:

  • 1.Concrete and Steel
  • 2.Lovething
  • 3.Penthouse Eyes
  • 4.Tell It
  • 5.My Head's in Mississippi
  • 6.Decision or Collision
  • 7.Give It Up
  • 8.2000 Blues
  • 9.Burger Man
  • 10.Doubleback

Product Description:

Recording information: Memphis Sound Productions, Memphis, TN.
Illustrator: Barry Jackson.
Photographers: Bob Alford; Dennis Hunt; Lesser; Galen Scott; Frank Jaubert.
Warner's 2013 box set The Complete Studio Albums 1970-1990 rounds up the ten albums ZZ Top recorded for Warner Bros over the course of 20 years: 1971's ZZ Top's First Album, 1972's Rio Grande Mud, 1973's Tres Hombres, 1975's Fandango!, 1976's Tejas, 1979's Deguello, 1981's El Loco, 1983's Eliminator, 1985's Afterburner, and 1990's Recycler. Each album is packaged as a mini LP containing the original artwork, but the real news is that the original LP mixes for ZZ Top's First Album, Rio Grande Mud, and Tejas are presented on CD for the first time, a move that will please all hardcore fans. That said, the whole package is quite attractive, and not just from a packaging perspective: this is the prime of ZZ Top, available in one place at a very attractive price (a retail of $59.98, which may be discounted to around $40 by some retailers). ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 081227965198
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 10 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)