The Ethics Golden "Philly" Classics

Get email alerts for The Ethics
12 ratings
Price: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  COL 5169
Brand New
Related products:

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The members of the Ethics came together through various talent shows held throughout the Philadelphia area and the group was capable of singing Rock, Rhythm and Blues, Jazz and Classical music all with an exceptional sound. The group formed in the late '60s and recorded numerous songs before breaking up in the early '70s. This CD represents a portion of their early recordings.


  • 1.Sad Sad Story
  • 2.I Want My Baby Back
  • 3.Standing In The Darkness
  • 4.Nothing's Too Good For My Baby
  • 5.Every Night And Day
  • 6.Tell Me
  • 7.Searching
  • 8.That's The Way Love Goes
  • 9.Think About Tomorrow
  • 10.Closer And Closer
  • 11.Look At Me Now
  • 12.When Are You Coming Home
  • 13.Who Do You Love
  • 14.Farewell

Product Description:

The Ethics: Ronald Tyson Presson, Joe freeman, Carl" Nugie" Enlow, Andrew "Bike" Collins (vocals).
Ronald Tyson-Presson, Joe Freeman, Carl Enlow and Andrew Collins were the Ethics, a quartet of lead singers with Philly roots. Tyson-Presson went on to sing with Love Committee before striking gold with the Temptations, where's he's the longest running member next to Otis Williams. The versatile falsetto is also a noted songwriter with eight pages of titles listed with Broadcast Music Incorporated. "Sad Sad Story," led by Tyson-Presson's delicate falsetto is a heart tugger that did well in Philly and along the East Coast. The clattering "I Want My Baby Back" and "Standing in the Darkness" features a rough tenor. A classy tenor/baritone is out front on "Nothing Too Good for My Baby" (a lilting, midtempo floater) and "Every Night and Day." "Tell Me," their biggest record, is choice sweet Philly soul; each Ethic sings some lead lines on a song that may well have inspired Blue Magic's sound. The subtle grace of "Searching" grows on you. The Ethics excel when Tyson-Presson leads, and "That's the Way Love Goes" is no exception -- the beat ballad has heavy doo wop influences. Tyson-Presson sounds like an innocent adolescent on the lilting "Think About Tomorrow," whose lyrics were obviously motivated by the Temptations' "Fading Away." In the skittish "Closer and Closer," a tenor testifies against sparse instrumentation and rah rah backing vocals. "Look at Me Now" hooks you from the start; a tenor convincingly sings of how his life has improved since finding his Boo. They close with the appropriate "Farewell," a killer ballad that Tyson-Presson juices along with a tenor a la Eddie Kendricks and David Ruffin. While some material is weak, their singing abilities are unquestionable. Unfortunately, Collectables Records did a miserable packaging job, there are no songwriters' credits and the bio is skimpy. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 30,272
  • UPC: 090431516928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)