The Showmen It Will Stand

It Will Stand
Get email alerts for The Showmen
7 ratings
Sale: $4.98
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $4.48 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $8.49 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5162
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records


  • 1.It Will Stand
  • 2.Country Fool
  • 3.This Misery
  • 4.The Wrong Girl
  • 5.Fate Planned It This Way
  • 6.For You My Darling
  • 7.Valley Of Love
  • 8.The Owl Sees You
  • 9.Swish Fish
  • 10.I'm Coming Home
  • 11.Strange Girl
  • 12.I Love You, Can't You See
  • 13.Let Her Feel It In Your Kiss
  • 14.True Fine Mama
  • 15.39-21-40 Shape
  • 16.It Will Stand

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Leslie Fenton; Gene Knight; Milton Wells.
Collectables' collection, It Will Stand, hardly stands as a complete overview of the fine vocal group's work. Still, at 16 tracks, it stands as the closest available in the CD age; especially since it focuses on their best, most popular work for Minut records. This means it bypasses their handful of sides for labels like Swan and Itzy, and several smaller imprints, but it does have three tracks cut for Instant, along with five previously unissued tracks (including alternate takes). Complete it may not be, but it's satisfying all the same; capturing why the group is beloved by many collectors of vocal harmony and beach music. Foremost among their jewels, of course, is the title track: a swinging testament to rock and roll's lasting impact. It may only have been a small hit upon its initial release in 1961 -- gaining a few more fans in its 1964 re-release -- but it's a cult favorite; thanks to its sweet tribute to rock and roll, and to lead singer General Norman Johnson's powerhouse lead vocals. Johnson later came to prominence as the leader of the Chairmen of the Board; where his stuttering, exuberant vocals propelled the group to several hits including "Give Me Just a Little More Time," but his vocals are nearly as good here; illustrating how this band was one of the key acts in the transition between doo wop and soul. The harmonies, and several of the songs, are very much in the tradition of late-'50s street-corner harmony, but Johnson's forceful vocals and the bouncy up-tempo material are much closer to the pop-soul that would later form the core of mid-'60s soul. Yes, a few of the songs are a little generic, but many are either dynamic or romantic, which is why this collection is necessary for serious soul listeners until a better, logical, more comprehensive, compilation comes along. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
A cut above most early rock and roll Music Lover: from Deer Park, TX US -- November, 11, 2007

A CD that showcases a very underrated group. Their records featured innovative, energetic, vocal and piano arrangements creating records that sound greater than the sum of their parts. Unreleased performances are included, fortunately, and the uptempo yet plaintive "This Misery" may even be their best cut! The sound is okay for the period. The Showmen certainly were vindicated in their prediction that "rock and roll Will Stand". Props to them.

Collectables Records
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,786
  • UPC: 090431516225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)