Randy Houser Magnolia

Get email alerts for Randy Houser
Price: $12.60
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.38 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  6RHY3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 11, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Stoney Creek Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Seventies-sounding keyboards, and the drums are often so soft they wouldn't alarm your neighbors. This has the advantage of making Houser, who has an arena-swallowing voice, seem that much bigger."


  • 1.No Stone Unturned
  • 2.Our Hearts
  • 3.What Whiskey Does
  • 4.Whole Lotta Quit
  • 5.No Good Place to Cry
  • 6.New Buzz
  • 7.Nothin' on You
  • 8.What Leaving Looks Like
  • 9.High Time
  • 10.Mamma Don't Know
  • 11.Running Man
  • 12.Evangeline

Product Description:

Personnel: Fred Eltringham (drums, percussion).
During his supporting tour for 2016's Fired Up, Randy Houser decided to step away from the splashy mainstream sound he had been pursuing and go for something different -- something direct and earthy, music that could have conceivably been inspired by neo-outlaw Chris Stapleton, even if it didn't sound precisely like the "Nobody to Blame" singer. Houser unveils this shift in direction on 2019's Magnolia, a loosely autobiographical song cycle whose dramatic undercurrents are brought to the surface on an accompanying fictional film which features the singer/songwriter as a bartender. Listening to Magnolia, there's no indication that its 12 songs would lend themselves to the screen, which is a compliment. Although the songs are thematically linked -- love and loss frequently reoccur, as does reckoning with middle age and the need to have a good time -- the record plays like nothing more than a collection of sturdy songs. Whether it's the searching opener "No Stone Unturned," the riotous Friday night anthem "Whole Lotta Quit," the barroom weeper "What Whiskey Does" (which features sympathetic support vocals from Hillary Lindsey), or the smoldering "No Good Place to Cry" -- a Southern soul number so perfectly executed, it seems excavated from the late '60s -- each of the songs stands on its own, but when heard collectively, they gain strength from each other. The result is Houser's best album yet: A casually confident, emotionally resonant record that feels born out of hard-won wisdom. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 4050538429084
  • Shipping Weight: 0.08/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)