Tommy Dorsey Ultimate Big Band Collection: Tommy Dorsey

Get email alerts for Tommy Dorsey
Price: $5.50
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  376GY
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Masterworks


  • 1.I'm Gettin' Sentimental Over You
  • 2.On Treasure Island
  • 3.After You've Gone
  • 4.Jammin'
  • 5.Satan Takes a Holiday
  • 6.Stop, Look and Listen
  • 7.After You
  • 8.Boogie Woogie
  • 9.Milenberg Joys, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 10.Opus #1

Product Description:

Recording information: New York, NY (01/19/1939); New York, NY (03/17/1937); New York, NY (04/15/1937); New York, NY (07/20/1937); New York, NY (09/16/1938); New York, NY (09/26/1935); New York, NY (10/14/1935); New York, NY (10/18/1936); New York, NY (11/14/1944).
The Tommy Dorsey volume in Sony's Masterworks Jazz series is a solid, decent-sounding, budget-priced introduction to this band's hits and best-known numbers during a peak period. Dorsey's band was a dance unit to be sure, and everything here, from its midtempo ballads such as "I'm Gettin' Sentimental Over You," to its slower, bluesy numbers like "After You've Gone," to the ubiquitous "Boogie Woogie," reflects this. For those looking for an introduction to one of swing's premier units, this little set will do you right. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,040
  • UPC: 886978054623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)