The Capitols Golden Classics

Get email alerts for The Capitols
4 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $7.99 (62% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 5105
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Capitols were best known for their 1966 dance hit "Cool Jerk". They began their careers in Detroit as The Three Caps before renaming themselves and starting out on the road to R&B and Pop success. The majority of their best work is brought together in this wonderfully sung and very danceable collection.


  • 1.Cool Jerk
  • 2.We Got A Thing That's In The Groove
  • 3.Soul Brothers, Soul Sisters
  • 4.Let's Go Get Stoned
  • 5.I Thought She Loved Me
  • 6.Ain't That Terrible
  • 7.When You're In Trouble
  • 8.Chained To My Heart
  • 9.It's Googaloo Time
  • 10.Let It All Reach Out
  • 11.Take A Chance On Me
  • 12.It's A Hang Up
  • 13.Up On Top Now
  • 14.You Can't Take Love
  • 15.Don't Say Maybe, Baby
  • 16.Please, Please, Please

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Unknown Contributor Role: The Capitols.
Collectables' Golden Classics edition on the Capitols is the only compilation available of this Detroit soul trio, and though nothing else here can touch the dance anthem "Cool Jerk," there's still a lot to love for fans of mad '60s soul. There's also only five tracks that overlap with their two 1966 LPs (Dance the Cool Jerk and We Got a Thing That's in the Groove), most of the tracks here coming from singles recorded later in the '60s, just before their breakup in 1969. "Cool Jerk" follow-ups "We Got a Thing That's in the Groove" and "It's Googaloo Time" sound almost as good as the prototype, while the Capitols' cover of the James Brown scorcher "Please Please Please" is worthy of JB himself. The rest are one-note novelties like "Ain't That Terrible," which inanely references dances of the time, mixed with a few covers (Ray Charles' "Let's Go Get Stoned"). ~ John Bush
Collectables Records
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,241
  • UPC: 090431510520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)