Jamiroquai Emergency on Planet Earth [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Emergency on Planet Earth [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Jamiroquai
57 ratings
WINTER SALE: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  37475
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 19, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Sony UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 8/13/93, p.74
"...turn out gritty organic grooves with enthusiasm..." Rating: B+
Q - 3/01, p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "...A funky and beautiful record, a contender for best British soul album of the '90s, and frankly better than anything Stevie Wonder has made since HOTTER THAN JULY..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.When You Gonna Learn? (Digeridoo)
  • 2.Too Young To Die
  • 3.Hooked Up
  • 4.If I Like It, I Do It
  • 5.Music of the Mind
  • 6.Emergency On Planet Earth
  • 7.Whatever It is, I Just Can't Stop
  • 8.Blow Your Mind
  • 9.Revolution 1993
  • 10.Didgin' Out

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.When You Gonna Learn? [Cante Hondo Mix]
  • 2.When You Gonna Learn? [Live At the Leadmill, Sheffield]
  • 3.Too Young To Die [Extended]
  • 4.If I Like It, I Do It [Acoustic]
  • 5.Emergency On Planet Earth [London Rican Mix]
  • 6.Revolution 1993 [Demo Version]
  • 7.Didgin' Out [Live At the Milky Way, Amsterdam]
  • 8.Brothers Like You [Live At Glastonbury, 1993]
  • 9.God Made Me Funky [Live At Glastonbury, 1993]
  • 10.Music of the Mind [Live At Glastonbury, 1993]

Product Description:

Personnel: Jay Kay (vocals); Glenn Nightingale, Gavin Dodds, Simon Bartholomew (guitar); Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra (strings); Mike Smith, Gary Barnacie (flute, saxophone); Wallis Buchanan (didjeridoo); John Thirkell (trumpet); Richard Edwards (trombone); Toby Smith (keyboards); Stuart Zender, Andrew Levy (bass); Nick Van Gelder (drums); Kofi Kari Kari, Maurizio (percussion); D.J. Zire (DJ); Linda Lewis, Vanessa Simon (background vocals).
Includes liner notes by Jay Kay.
Personnel: Glenn Nightingale, Gavin Dodds, Simon Bartholomew (guitar); Gary Barnacle (flute, saxophone); Wallis Buchanan (didjeridu); John Thirkell (trumpet, flugelhorn); Richard Edwards (trombone); Toby Smith (keyboards); Nick Van Gelder (drums); Maurizio Ravalio, Kofi Karikari (percussion); DJ Dzire (turntables).
Recording information: Glastonbury (1993); Leadmill, Sheffield (1993); Milky Way, Amsterdam (1993).
Jamiroquai's debut brings together a utopian worldview, funky '70s R&B influences and the liberated sensibility of England's burgeoning acid-jazz movement. The band, led by singer Jason "Jay" Kay, rides a funky groove while spreading a message of peace, love and environmental conscientiousness. The results of this meeting of heart and head range from Brazilian-flavored instrumentals like "Music Of The Mind" to to songs like "If I Like It, I Do It," on which yesterday's jazzy soul is spun around on today's hip-hoppy turntables.
Jamiroquai also flexes its improvisational muscle on two songs that clock in at over eight minutes. On "Blow Your Mind," Kay scats like George Benson, and the band captures the funky flow of "Summer Madness"-era Kool & The Gang. "Revolution 1993" is a 10-minute vamp on self-determination, featuring an Afro-Caribbean rhythm, Herbie Mann-inspired flute, a raging Moog synthesizer and the darting strings of the Reggae Philharmonic Orchestra.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,461
  • UPC: 886919678529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)