Metallica ...And Justice for All (3-CD)

Rolling Stone: 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "Dense, complex and mad at the world -- JUSTICE contained nine statements of aggression that resonated with fans of heavy music en masse."
Get email alerts for Metallica
Price: $23.50
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $1.48 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
item number:  6RDXF
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: November 2, 2018
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Blackened Recordings

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
4.5 stars out of 5 -- "Dense, complex and mad at the world -- JUSTICE contained nine statements of aggression that resonated with fans of heavy music en masse."
Q - Summer/01, p.127
4 stars out of 5 - "...Featured much overblown riffage and the future classic 'One'..."a
Kerrang (Magazine) - p.55
"[O]ne of Metallica's finest moments..."
Pitchfork (Website) - "The songwriting of singer James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich is their most complex and vicious, retaining the power of their early thrash while jettisoning its simplistic schoolyard chants and avoiding the less-compelling hard rock tendencies to come."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Blackened
  • 2....And Justice For All
  • 3.Eye Of The Beholder
  • 4.One
  • 5.The Shortest Straw
  • 6.Harvester Of Sorrow
  • 7.The Frayed Ends Of Sanity
  • 8.To Live Is To Die
  • 9.Dyers Eve

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Blackened (November 1987 Demo)
  • 2....And Justice For All (November 1987, Writing In Progress)
  • 3.Eye Of The Beholder (November 1987, Writing In Progress)
  • 4.One (Work In Progress Rough Mix)
  • 5.The Shortest Straw (December 1987, Writing In Progress)
  • 6.Harvester Of Sorrow (Work In Progress Rough Mix)
  • 7.The Frayed Ends Of Sanity (November 1987 Demo)
  • 8.To Live Is To Die (Work In Progress Rough Mix)
  • 9.Dyers Eve (January 1988 Demo)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Blackened
  • 2.For Whom The Bell Tolls
  • 3.Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  • 4.Leper Messiah
  • 5.Harvester Of Sorrow
  • 6.Eye Of The Beholder
  • 7.Seek & Destroy
  • 8.Creeping Death
  • 9.One
  • 10....And Justice For All
  • 11.Whiplash
  • 12.Breadfan

Product Description:

Metallica: James Hetfield (vocals, guitar); Kirk Hammett (guitar); Jason Newsted (bass); Lars Ulrich (drums).
Recorded at One To One Studio, Los Angeles, California between January & May 1988.
Following the tragic death of bassist Cliff Burton, Metallica regrouped with Flotsam & Jetsam bassist Jason Newsted to record this ambitious double album. Metallica made their reputation playing complex music at superhuman speed, and when James Hetfield's lyrics caught up with his compositional skills, the band became a force to be reckoned with. Everything came together on 1986's MASTER OF PUPPETS, and JUSTICE picks up where PUPPETS left off.
Utilizing intricate yet crunching riffs, layered guitar melodies and intelligent lyrics, Metallica forged an identity as the leader of '80s metal. Hetfield's lyrics are often quite dark, touching on injustice (the title song), insanity ("The Frayed Ends Of Sanity") and his own troubled childhood ("Dyers Eve"). They also had a progressive streak a mile wide, as shown in the involved arrangements that often brought the song lengths close to 10 minutes. JUSTICE also marked a turning point for drummer Lars Ulrich, who began replacing his off-kilter playing with a more straightforward groove approach, and for the band, who made their first video (for "One") and thus scored their first hit.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,547
  • UPC: 858978005806
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)