Aaliyah Age Ain't Nothing But a Number

Age Ain't Nothing But a Number
Get email alerts for Aaliyah
73 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  SSP 97932
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 24, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 6/17/94, p.52
"...Imagine En Vogue packed into one teenage body and backed by hip-hop svengali R. Kelly, and you have Aaliyah...a promising start..." - Rating: B+


  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Throw Your Hands Up
  • 3.Back & Forth
  • 4.Age Ain't Nothing But a Number
  • 5.Down With Your Clique
  • 6.At Your Best (You Are Love)
  • 7.No One Knows How To Love Me Quite Like You Do
  • 8.I'm So Into You
  • 9.Street Thing
  • 10.Young Nation
  • 11.Old School
  • 12.I'm Down
  • 13.Back & Forth [Mr. Lee & R. Kelly's Remix] - (remix)

Product Description:

Personnel: Aaliyah, Tia Hawkins (vocals); Keith Henderson (guitar); Lafayette Carthon (keyboards); Timmy Allen (bass); Peter Mokran (programming); Stephanie Edwards, Stephanie Huff (background vocals).
Recorded at Chicago Recording Company, Chicago, Illinois.
Tributees: Nate Manela; Joanne Kelly; Gladys Haughton.
Personnel: Aaliyah (background vocals); R. Kelly (rap vocals, background vocals); Tia Hawkins (rap vocals); Peter Mokran (programming); Stephanie Edwards , Stephanie Huff (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Mr. Lee; Peter Mokran; R. Kelly.
Recording information: Chicago recording Company.
Suprisingly enough, it no longer takes an adult to perform as an adult in today's music industry, especially one filled with so much young talent. Proving that her age has no bearing on her music's maturity, R. Kelly's protege Aaliyah debuts with AGE AIN'T NOTHING BUT A NUMBER. Aaliyah complements the album's material, appealing to both R&B and hip-hop listeners, while managing to "keep it smooth with a jazz attitude."
Detroit's Aaliyah surprised the public when she succesfully hit with her first single, "Back And Forth," which found its market on the club scene. The album's other highlights are soft, mellow tunes like "At Your Best (You Are Love)," "Young Nation," "Age Ain't Nothing But A Number" and "Down With The Clique." Producing all tracks, R. Kelly definitely has a '90s swing evident on this project. Also obvious is that Kelly writes all but one song, because what fifteen-year-old can drive or make love. It's no secret that R. Kelly is the mastermind behind this endearing album.
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 3,592
  • UPC: 886919793222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)