The Band Perry Pioneer

Get email alerts for The Band Perry
13 ratings
Price: $12.67
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.31 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  EDJX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 2, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Republic


  • 1.Better Dig Two
  • 2.Done
  • 3.Don't Let Me Be Lonely
  • 4.Pioneer
  • 5.Forever Mine Nevermind
  • 6.Night Gone Wasted
  • 7.I Saw a Light
  • 8.Mother Like Mine
  • 9.Chainsaw
  • 10.I'm a Keeper
  • 11.Back to Me Without You
  • 12.End of Time

Product Description:

Personnel: Ilya Toshinskly (acoustic guitar, resonator guitar, banjo); Jerry McPherson (electric guitar); Dann Huff (electric 12-string guitar); Dan Dugmore (steel guitar, dobro); Paul Franklin (steel guitar, sitar); Neil Perry (bouzouki, mandolin); Stuart Duncan (fiddle); Jim Hoke (pennywhistle); Charlie Judge (piano, Hammond b-3 organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Aaron Sterling (drums); David Huff (percussion, programming); Eric Darken (percussion); Cherie Oakley (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Justin Niebank.
Recording information: Blackbird Studios, Nashville, TN; Westlake Recording Studios, West Hollywood, CA.
Photographers: David McClister; Neil Perry; Ben Krebs.
Starting with the threats of "Better Dig Two," there's a swagger that underpins much of Pioneer, the second album from family country-pop trio the Band Perry. This boldness never quite dissipates under the thunderous cloud of big ballads, of which there are many here. Almost all the attitude derives from Kimberly Perry, who retains a sense of palpable defiance even in the quietest moments, her vigor lending passion to music that is deliberately designed to appeal to the widest possible audience as it blurs the line between contemporary country and pop. At times, this desire to be everything to everyone leads to some seriously odd juxtapositions, as on the shred-guitar fireworks of the coda of "Forever Mine Nevermind" -- a grace note Spinal Tap would have been proud to achieve -- and the gurgling talkbox and mandolin war on "I'm a Keeper." These accidental oddities along with Kimberly Perry's fiercely committed vocals give Pioneer a character it otherwise works overtime to avoid and, for as good as the by-the-books ballads and rocking country are, the moments when the fa‡ade slips a bit make this worth hearing as an album and not a collection of singles. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 58,749
  • UPC: 602537327621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)